We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mange Tout - CLOSED

Mange Tout
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Great simple menu with great food . Views from the dining room fantastic service very attentive. a lovely relaxing place to enjoy great food with a very good wine selection from the hotel vineyards.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Berjan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful food with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The food was delicious and will leave you wanting more. The location is amazing with great views of the hills and vineyards within the area. A great dinner and well worth the small commute to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DreamaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and brilliant food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our dinner at mange tout. Food was excellent although a little pricey. Staff was very professional and friendly. Location was great with incredible views of Franschhoek and the mountains. Pianist was also very entertaining. All in all was a great night out.

Helpful?
Thank jasonrademan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
“A meal with a view: what an understatement!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

As a couple of foodies we are running out of expletives for the fantastic food in the Franschhoek area! Then cones Mange Tout at the Mont Rochelle Hotel! We were staying in central Franschhoek and the restaurant looked not too far on the map do off we set on foot......eventually we reached the security gate for the hotel.....slightly hot and bothered. The security guard could not gave been more sympathetic and helpful - he called the hotel and they sent a driver yo take us uphill to the restaurant. Here, the staff were incredibly helpful and told us that they would arrange for car transport back to our accommodation in Franschhoek. We had a pre-dinner drink in the lovely bar area before entering the superb dining room of the restaurant. We had a window table and the views of the valley and the mountains was breathtaking. We opted for the three course dinner and found each of the courses beautifully presented, small but perfectly adequate sized portions of the most delicious tasting food. We accompanied each dish with a glass of their own vineyard and were not disappointed. Wonderful food, amazing setting and impeccable service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cfab777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This food was not only delicious it was a a wonderful exhibition of art.
I had the springbok for starter and it was one of those where you savour every bite. Each ingredient worked with the other.
For mains I had the duck with cherry cake and it was fantastic! My husband had the smoked fillet of beef which was incredibly tender!
I finished off with the cheese and chutneys! Again an amazing combinations. We were very spoilt here by Jazelle - excellent waitress who looked after and chatted to us long after the meal was over.
We didnt eat anywhere twice on honey moon by choice but this was the one place I was sorry I didnt return to.
We had the 2004 Mont Rochelle Merlot with the food and again it was an easy drink as promised.
One of my favourite restaurants on Honeymoon but made so by the combination of experience and the food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sksligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mange Tout also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing