We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DELICIOUS tomato soup!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BICCCS Die Ou Pannekoek Huis

BICCCS Die Ou Pannekoek Huis
Ranked #41 of 75 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS tomato soup!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

And we brought in our own wine! Nice, simple lunch...we went specifically for the delicious soup that my local friend raved about...well deserved! Great service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank loveleighalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    34
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“We had a nice lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

The friendly host made a nice homebaked bread with rostbeef and cheese. Just what the dokter ordered!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monique_en_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“PAVEMENT SPECIAL”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

There is nothing nicer than one's first cuppa in the morning and we opted for BICCCS, lots of parking which is always great. We were surprised to see how busy the place was, but then it's a very relaxed, cozy, well appointed joint in the right spot. The bright red couch beckoned and I loved flopping down, really feels like home... and both morning papers were right there as if they were ordered especially for us. We didn't have the famed scrambled eggs, but other diners were tucking in and seemed to be enjoying themselves. I ordered a "skinny" cuppachino which was unavailable, that disappointed me, but my better half enjoyed his whatever it was, probably chocolate. Our ciabbatta's were fresh, crispy, great BUT overwhelming, just far too much. So if you're into huge portions this is the place to go. I'm sure students on a budget would love it! Was worth the stop, now I know what to expect.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Burntoutactress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
237 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great scrambled eggs served by friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

If you like scrambled eggs for breakfast and lovely croissants, this is worth visiting. The best scrambled eggs we have had in Franschhoek. Staff attentive and very friendly.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank capeintl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great coffee, ice cream and panini's in convivial atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Biccs is a great stopping point for superior coffee and pasty's. Try the one in the Cape Quarter too.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anolivefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BICCCS Die Ou Pannekoek Huis also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to BICCCS Die Ou Pannekoek Huis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing