We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A most wonderful experience”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Franschhoek, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Peter C
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A most wonderful experience”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful cottage in the grounds of the owners house. Our host payed attention to every detail and could not have been more friendly and helpful. The weather turned cold and we appreciated the open fire. When we went out to dinner our host even kept the fire going for us. What a nice touch. The self contained kitchen has everything. We had a nice bottle of local red wine waiting for us and a chocolate and port for an evening nightcap. Owner gave us lots of eating and travelling tips and it has to be one of the best places we have stayed at. Also very well appointed sitting room and a large bathroom. Thoroughly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly service
Liked least: The cold weather!!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MartijnM1...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Most complete cottage ever”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Petit Plaisir cottage for only one night but it was a very nice experience. The cottage has a very romantic decor and has a nice fireplace. Everything you need is available; in the kitchen, in the bathroom, in the bedroom and in the living room. The owner is very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: that it was very well thought over, everything you might need was available
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN USA
Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England
Reviewed March 16, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed March 12, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KEITH T
bradford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Franschhoek's hidden gem!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Just back from 8 nights at Petit Plaisir. What a great find that totally lives up to the previous reviews we read. It is lovely and the perfect place for a couple to stay who are looking for some quality tranquility to chill in the beautiful surroundings of Franschhoek. It is just a ten minute walk from the village centre and an hours drive from Capetown.

Marlicia is the perfect host and nothing is too much trouble and those little touches really do make a difference. From the complimentary wine, fruit and homemade cakes on arrival to booking restaurant reservations or checking weather forecasts for trips it's all part of the service. Additional and very unexpected bottle of champagne to toast our engagement at the top of table mountain at sunset - oh yes well planned on my part so for all you lovers planning that extra romantic surprise - this one works!! Delightful cottage with all mod cons and a fantastic bathroom with a very powerful shower that is so refreshing after a hard days sunbathing! Lovely pool and patio area and whilst the garden and pool is shared with the owners, it is a strict no go area for the owners when guests are staying so privacy is guaranteed. Daily but discreet maid service as you would expect from a 4 star. If you havn't been to Franschhoek before - do it, it is the wine and culinary centre of The Cape with just too many fantastic restaurants to name but here's a few. Dieu Donne for fantastic unrivalled views of the valley and great food and wine to match; cafe Bon Bon lovely for breakfast or lunch, La Petit Ferme for quality and stunning views or Monneauxa (part of The Franschhoek Country Hotel) for fab food and setting and all of the above have service to die for (compared to your average eatery in UK).

Petit Plaisir is a great place, ideal location overlooking mountains and very competitively priced. Fantastic service, quality fixtures and fittings and lovely hosts in both Marlicia and Louis. You would be mad to miss this little gem in fabulous Franschhoek.

Date of stay: January 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quality and friendly but discreet service. Excellent package.
Liked least: Frustratingly guest house wifi not working, a minor blip. Plenty of other free access sites local.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing