We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun times in Franschhoek”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House
Ranked #22 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Just back from 4 nights at Goodings Groves. Whilst not absolutely perfect I would definitely recommend it. To start with the bad stuff, there is no getting away from the fact that you are not in town so if you are going out for the evening you are going to have to drive or get a taxi / lift. (some restaurants allora and holden mantz will come and pick you up). Also the automatic gates were not working when we were there, there is a manual gate but it would feel better / more secure once the automatic gates are fixed. Other than that it was excellent, room was lovely, well equipped and we slept very well. Nice pool to laze around when the wine tasting became too much. The manager Susan and her husband (sorry, can't remember his name) were excellent, when we arrived after a 7 hour drive from near PE, she wouldn't hear of us driving into town for dinner and booked a table and arranged for the restaurant to pick us up. She also personally gave us a lift to Grand Provence for our last evening - hope I am not setting susan up for a future of being a taxi service. Wish I was still there

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmyjames1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 156 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights of a 2 week stay in South Africa. It was a wonderful location. We had the Barn Suite 1 which was very comfortable and met our needs wonderfully as it meant we could eat out or in and cook if we prefered. We did all 3 on our stay. Susan was a wonderful host and booked us a reservation at a lovely restaurant in Franschhoek called Allora. We also had lots of good recommendations for takeaway pizza on the one day we decided to watch the rugby at the Barn. The staff keep the grounds beautifully and the daily housekeeping was great too. We loved the real coffee for the cafetiere both being big coffee drinkers. Breakfast here was nice too. All in all a wonderful stay. The only downside for us was the distance from Franschhoek as on a couple of nights we had late ones with friends and taxi's were hard to come by in town but Susan very kindly drove us in one night and we got a lift home off of a barman!! Really missed the views from the patio when we moved into Cape Town. We certainly recommend to friends!

Room Tip: Our suite was lovely. A little noisy when it rained with its metal roof and rather bright on those s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrandMrs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at Gooding's Grove for 3 nights during our first trip to Franschoek. The Manager Susan was so accommodating and checked us in to our beautiful and spacious room. We loved the personal touches like the lavender on the pillows and the complimentary olives and sherry in our room. Breakfast was really tasty and Susan couldn't of been more helpful during our entire stay. The grounds are also lovely and we spent early evenings by the pool with a book as the sun set. Perfect stay and we will return again someday!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aimee_k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The manager and owners of this hotel came to our rescue when we were looking for emergency accommodation. Our 2 rooms were as beautiful as the website presents. The friendliness and wine and olives - after our rather fraught day, were very welcome.

A peaceful retreat a short drive from the centre of Franschhoel, this beautiful and atmospheric guest house was like staying in your own home! Typical architecture of the area, pristine white with an abundance of white roses and lavender in the gardens surrounding, the house is furnished and decorated in colonial style. Each room is incredibly comfortable with all you would expect in a 5 star hotel and with the added extra of a carafe of sherry and olives from its own grove.

Would I stay there again... You bet!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worldlwanderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stopped off at Franschhoek for two nights along the Garden Route. We had not booked any accommodation and arrived on the Saturday when there was a wine festival and weddings galore! Franschhoek was booked up on our way out we luckily stumbled across Goodings Groves where luckily availability had just come up.

We enjoyed two nights here and is just on the outside of Franschhoek so needed to drive in. We enjoyed the red wine tour and visiting some of the lovely restaurants along the main street of Franschhoek.

The room was very comfortable with en-suite bathroom, we enjoyed a few hours in the afternoon around the pool. Service was great and they are always happy to help in your activities and booking restaurants etc with some offering a pick up and drop off service.

We would highly recommend this little find and would stay again.

Thanks for rescuing us!

Graeme and Emma

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Totty26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed for 3 days in January 2014, our first nights on our South African trip this year. Our hosts Susan and Johann were very helpful, both before and during our stay, and made us really welcome. The Victorian home is well set back from the road, so you have lovely views of Olive bushes and with a background of mountains. It is 3 km from Franschoek. We found it very peaceful, genuinely restored oringinal buildings, and excellent service.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank gxtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Spent two nights here, Johann and Susan so welcoming and accommodating in every way.
Beautiful scenery, tucked within vineyards and olive trees .... Truly beautiful. The property does need updating , but it is only under new management so I would be very hopeful for this to be an outstanding lodge in the Franschoek valley,in a short period of time, under the guidance of the new management team.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
4.0 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
367 reviews
1.9 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#19 of 64 in Franschhoek
287 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Maison d'Ail Guest House
#25 of 64 in Franschhoek
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#31 of 64 in Franschhoek
199 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#15 of 64 in Franschhoek
296 reviews
1.9 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House

Address: Goederust / La Motte | Main Road, R45, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $144 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gooding's Groves is an idyllic retreat, surrounded by mountains and vineyards, mere moments from the Franschhoek high street. This boutique 4* get-away is the ideal venue for anyone who wants a break from the norm, but still close to the hot spots. There are 8 beautifully appointed bedrooms in the loving-restored Manor House. Each room benefits from breath-taking views, a well-proportioned bathroom suite, Wi-Fi, DSTV, tea/coffee facilities, fans & air-conditioning, in-room safe and more. A combination of King/Queen and Twin bedroom set-up are available. There are 3 further suites in "The Cottage" and "The Barn". Tastefully decorated with high ceilings, dining areas and kitchenettes, these larger studios also benefit from private gardens and patio areas, ideal for families or independent travellers. Children & Pets: Unfortunately we cannot accommodate children in the Manor House, however well-behaved children & some dogs are always welcome in the self-catering suites!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Gooding's Groves Olive Farm & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing