We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Ranked #20 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL SERVICE”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My mom and dad are both in their 80s and won a voucher yo stay at this delightful guest house. We arranged with Clive to collect them from their home in Cape Town as they didnt want to drive. From the moment Clive collected them they were treated extremely well. Jeanne had already phoned through on the morning to ask if she could book them into a restaurant for the evening. The bedroom was absolutely beautiful with a beautiful bathroom. That evening Clive took them to the restaurant in town and fetched them when they were ready to come home. Jeanne chose a perfect restaurant for them as well which they loved. The following morning they were given an outstanding breakfast and loved chatting to the black labrador. The staff were all kind and caring and could not have done enough for them. We will definitely recommend this place to anybody. Don't think they could do anything wrong. Judging by all the other reviews this is definitely a place to visit.

Room Tip: all rooms are luxurious, you can have any of them and you will be happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanandDavid304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    47
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
195
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Maison D'Ail is set at the end of a quiet street with fantastic views over the mountains. The property is tastefully decorated and very stylish. We stayed in the room which overlooks the mountains on two sides and it was fabulous. The bathroom was gorgeous with a pebble-floored shower. Jeanne and Clive were helpful and friendly and Zak, the gorgeous black labrador kept us company during breakfast.... well, at least when the bacon was served! All in all, a fabulous property. Couldn't have hoped for more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenLanghammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We loved this place and really wish we could have stayed longer. The owner and staff were very friendly and the room was lovely. It is quite a walk into the town, but that means it is nice and quiet, and the views are stunning. Breakfast was lovely, we really would have liked to have stayed a few more days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted_Ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This really is just what Franschhoek is all about. Top quality, stylish, luxurious... it is hard to find enough superlatives.
With the owners on hand making sure every detail is right, I can't think how our stay could be improved.
We loved the peaceful wonderful breakfast on the terrace, enjoyed a hot afternoon by the refreshing pool, and loved all the facilities including the wonderful views of the mountains surrounding us.
It is probably too far to walk into the town if very hot, but then the bonus is it is quiet and relaxing away from the high street.
Everything about Franschhoek exudes European class and quality, from the shopping to the restaurants and wines and Maison d'Ail is up there with the best it just so belongs there, we would return to no where else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Well we did come again and it was as good as ever.
The minute you walk through the door it is totally relaxing. Room 1 has a great view looking towards the mountains as you lay in bed and has its own enclosed patio area.
The decor throughout the building adds to the feeling of "well life couldn't be better".
After a day exploring the area to come back to that pool and chill out makes the Maison d' Ail a very special experience .
T&L

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickshireTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Maison D'ail is, by North American standards, akin to staying in a 5 star guest house. We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. Every morning you are treated to monogrammed napkins, fresh fruit, and full hot breakfast done however you like. The owners are on-site daily making sure everything is perfect, and they are lovely people. The rooms are gorgeous, comfortable, and very luxurious. I loved the added touch of the terry bath robes for each guest. The pool is lovely and a real treat mid day to cool down. The rate is very reasonable, and the location is great. It is a 10 minute walk to "downtown" and Franschoek was great.We highly, highly recommend Maison D'ail!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ifield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from another great trip to South Africa stayed at this guest house for four days and was not disappointed, very friendly helpful owners Clive and Jeanne and lovely helpful staff. Rooms we're clean bright and spacious and the breakfast served on the terrace each morning wax truly stunning. Thank you so much we will be back

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
0.8 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison d'Ail Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison d'Ail Guest House

Property: Maison d'Ail Guest House
Address: 77 Reservoir Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison d'Ail Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquility of this newly established guesthouse, Maison d’Ail, owned and run by the Garlick family. Nestled under the Franschhoek mountains, this guesthouse will enable you to relax and unwind in the most tranquil surroundings.Spend your days relaxing at our pool or step out onto the bustling streets of Franschhoek and enjoy top class cuisine and wine at one of the many restaurants and wine farms in the valley.Luxury...amazing views...peace and quiet...who could ask for more? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Maison d'Ail Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison d`Ail Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing