We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough, a bit further out of town than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Ranked #22 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Clean and attractive accommodation with tasty breakfasts, though there was building work going on next door while we were there so not as restful as it could have been. We had partly chosen this B&B because the website described it as within walking distance to the centre of Franshoek - it's worth looking at a map to get an idea of distance as you may disagree - we didn't feel comfortable walking, especially in the evening.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RKT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 305 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Maison D'Ail was truly a gem. My husband and I stayed 2 nigghts on the second-floor corner room with spectacular views of the mountains. The rooms and common areas are clean, modern and very nicely decorated. We truly felt like we were spending the weekend at someone's house. And the morning breakfasts were superb! Franschooek, by the way, is one of the most beautiful places I've ever visited. The only drawback is that the house is not really within walking distance of town, but the manager offers to take you to and from town whenever you'd like for a fee. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to enjoy a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTirado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst in Franschhoek. It is located approx 10-15 minutes walk from Huguenot Road. The guesthouse is modern and very nicely furnished. The rooms are comfortable and there is an upstairs veranda as well as a pool area to enjoy the stunning scenery this town has to offer. The breakfast was also lovely. Clive, the owner, also very kindly gave our hire car a wash down as it was filthy after visiting Sanbona as well as suggesting several good wineries in the area. If you are visiting Franschhoek it's best to try and book one of popular restaurants in advance as you are unlikely to get one by turning up on the day

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying here, it felt nice and safe after arriving from the UK and reminded us of visits to France.
We loved the home from home "purple" nespresso,and the dip pool.
Nice and relaxed with space in the communal areas to spread out into......... with all the goodies from the winery's.
In a quite street away from the main in Franschoek.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the downstairs room with access to our own garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineCheshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights and had a good experience. The rooms are stylish, very clean and well decorated. Die Lage ist zentral, dennoch empfiehlt sich aus meiner Sicht das Auto ins Zentrum. Das Guesthouse steht in einem ruhigen Wohnviertel und hat einen tollen Blick auf die Lage. The host know the region and are nice, however sometimes a bit distant they have a lot of routine. The breakfast is nice, maybe a bit slow and has not had a big variation, would be good to have a can of coffee on the table even if you get fresh nexpresso coffee, I do not want to wait for coffee and toast in the monring, eggs need time, of course.

All in all a good stay and definately recommended, what I missed was a bit more heartiness of the owners. But we can recommend the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs, the ground floor room has some early monring breakfast noise if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place is spacious and not too far from town. I found the ultra modern decor too sparce - no pictures on the walls. Also the walls are badly marked from suitcases in the stairwell and in the room - needs a good cleaning. Same breakfast every day - no variety although quality was good. Pool was very small and location in sub-division.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are smaller - the front rooms have the view of the mountains. The downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MurphyBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

First off all thank you to all off you (Clive, Jeanne and all other in the staff) you have make our stay in Franschhoek very memorable. The hospitality, you feel at Maison d Ail is fantastic and absolutely nothing was too much trouble when it comes to restaurant recommendations, how to drive to a places, bookings and take time for a chat. The lodge is lovely with a calm oasis in the middle where the pool is located, and you have a wonderful view over the garden and the surroundings from the balcony. The room is tasteful furnished and the beds are very comfortable. And it is only a 15 minutes walk down to Franschhoeks center. Thank you again for your hospitality and we will definitely stay at Maison d Ail next time we visit Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansSoderstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.7 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#9 of 65 in Franschhoek
663 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 65 in Franschhoek
542 reviews
0.7 mi away
Calais Guest House
Calais Guest House
#21 of 65 in Franschhoek
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#7 of 65 in Franschhoek
215 reviews
11.3 mi away
Vrede en Lust Estate
Vrede en Lust Estate
#33 of 65 in Franschhoek
168 reviews
0.8 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#1 of 65 in Franschhoek
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison d'Ail Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison d'Ail Guest House

Address: 77 Reservoir Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $117 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison d'Ail Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquility of this newly established guesthouse, Maison d’Ail, owned and run by the Garlick family. Nestled under the Franschhoek mountains, this guesthouse will enable you to relax and unwind in the most tranquil surroundings.Spend your days relaxing at our pool or step out onto the bustling streets of Franschhoek and enjoy top class cuisine and wine at one of the many restaurants and wine farms in the valley.Luxury...amazing views...peace and quiet...who could ask for more? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maison d'Ail Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison d`Ail Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing