We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and great experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Ranked #22 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The couple that owns this hotel has done a great job with it. The pictures on this site don't even do it justice. The room was immaculate and the included breakfast was delicious! I feel like the pool is more for show than for actual use. The staff recommended restaurants for us and arranged a personal wine tour for us. They were very helpful. The only minor complaint is the distance into the town. It's probably ~10-15 minute walk (although we didn't walk it ever). It's close enough but not really "in" town. Overall, we loved the hotel and would definitely recommend it to friends or family.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilChiefBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Maison d'Ail Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 274 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

Despite Maison D'ail being a little too far to walk into Franschhoek for supper in the evening, this was the only minor blemish on an otherwise lovely property. It is a fairly new but charming property set in a lovely location looking out over the Franschhoek Mountains and was the most peaceful and relaxing accommodation we stayed in during our recent holiday along the Garden Route. The bedrooms were large and beautifully appointed with a large first floor internal lounge area and external sundeck available for guests to use. We found the staff to be very helpful and much enjoyed the delicious breakfasts that they provided for us. They were also happy to book wine trips and restaurants for guests and taxis in the evening should you not wish to undertake 15 minute walk into Franschhoek. Free wifi was also available at the guest house and the owner said that he would be happy to print boarding passes if so required. Overall we enjoyed our two-night stay at Maison D'ail and would have stayed longer had we had more time.

Room Tip: Large room at front of house looking towards the Franschhoek Mountains
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam47Kingston_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

As others have said this is a very attractive B&B but it is in the wrong location. It is not centrally located and is really a very large house built as B&B accommodation in a residential area. Some have said it is a 5 minute walk from the centre of town. It isn't. It's at least 15 minutes along an unlit quiet street and only a fool would walk this route at night. A round trip taxi ride into town appears to be a standard rate of 160 rand - yes for a 2 minute taxi ride.

We found the owner to be one of the rudest men we have ever met who is clearly not familiar with the concept of tact or customer service. The air con in our room didn't work but our earlier experience with the owner suggested to us that any complaints would be answered to the effect that we were 'idiots'. This was a pity as the staff were trying their best at all times to provide excellent service.

If you are planning a stay or meals out in Franschhoek, then we would suggest you look for somewhere closer to the main street which would more convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoloresHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Well it's my second time at Maison d'Ail and it was just as lovely as the first time. Jeanne & Clive are gracious hosts, friendly and accommodating. Everything was perfect and I enjoyed the luxury room as well as the delicious breakfast. Great attention to detail. I will return again!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank cbabeCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our 2 nights. Warm friendly reception from the owners Clive and Jean. Well stocked honesty bar. Delicious breakfasts. Clean lines, elegant decor. Refreshing pool area with an attractive garden and great mountain views. We will come back.
Might be nice to have some background music during breakfast to take away the silence.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyNatalieBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed one night at Maison d'Ail as a last minute booking and what a good choice it was. The guest house is beautifully presented with pretty gardens, in a lovely setting in a nice quiet street off the main road in Franschhoek. We had an immaculate spacious room, with the most fantastic shower! Even though it was a last minute booking, Clive and Jeanne readily accommodated my allergies. There is a large balcony outside the upstairs rooms and the views from there are spectacular. An upstairs comfortable seating area is also available for guests, which is a nice touch. Breakfast was excellent in a lovely setting. We will most definitely stay there again next time we are in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineDBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Maison d'Ail, our room was upstairs at the front of the house with great views. It was large, stylish, comfortable and well furnished. The breakfast was very good, unfortunately the weather was not good enough for us to sit outside but the dining room is a lovely room. Maison d'Ail is situated on the edge of Franschhoek with the benefit of the views but is still within walking distance of the centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.7 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
624 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
4.6 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#19 of 64 in Franschhoek
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macaron Boutique Guest House
Macaron Boutique Guest House
#32 of 64 in Franschhoek
62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#7 of 64 in Franschhoek
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison d'Ail Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison d'Ail Guest House

Address: 77 Reservoir Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $86 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison d'Ail Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquility of this newly established guesthouse, Maison d’Ail, owned and run by the Garlick family. Nestled under the Franschhoek mountains, this guesthouse will enable you to relax and unwind in the most tranquil surroundings.Spend your days relaxing at our pool or step out onto the bustling streets of Franschhoek and enjoy top class cuisine and wine at one of the many restaurants and wine farms in the valley.Luxury...amazing views...peace and quiet...who could ask for more? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Maison d'Ail Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison d`Ail Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing