We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, safe. Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Ranked #23 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We spent one night here on our way home. The B&B is just off the main road (where all restaurants/shops are), in a nice secluded suburb. The rooms are very well appointed with great bathrooms, amenities, TV (including sports and movie channels!), free WIFI and coffee/tea making facilities.
The communal areas of the B&B are very open and a great place to enjoy a drink, swim or some sun after a day exploring the Cape Winelands. There is an honor bar with drinks, etc. that are very reasonably prices.
Breakfast is very good with fruit, pastries, etc. and you are also offered a cook to order hot breakfast. Coffee is very good (nespresso) and they also offer cappuccino's!
Franschhoek is a spectacular area of the cape and abounds with excellent restaurants, wineries, B&B's, scenery, drives, etc. We're already planning a trip back (and we only stay an hour away).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizClsDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 286 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

It was the Franschhoek Literary Festival. The days were glorious and the beauty of a Boland Autumn at its best. Clear skies and wonderful autumnal colors added to the really comfortable and luxurious stay at Maison d' Ail Guest house. We felt extra special from the moment we arrived and owner Clive met us and saw us to our standard room till we left two mornings later. The guest house was tastfully furnished and comfortable. We would recommend this to those who appreciate the touches that a well run four star establishment as this has to offer.

Room Tip: standard rooms don't have the views but were very comfortable and less pricey. Clive recommende...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I was getting married in Franschhoek and booked all the rooms for myself and my family. The hosts were all lovely and welcoming. The house is beautifully decorated and spacious. We used it to get ready in the morning of the wedding and it was perfect. My family stayed on extra nights there and loved it, very clean, well managed, fast free internet and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Perfect atmosphere, very new And modern facilities! Great hostess and best service in SA!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leentjiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

What a fantastic place. Very high quality from start to finish. Our room was amazing, very spacious with a separate dressing room and huge bathroom with bath and walk in shower, and a private enclosed terrace. The public areas were also top quality, lovely pool / garden area. Food and staff excellent. Very well stocked kitchen with honesty bar. Clive was very helpful with information on local restaurants etc. I would highly recommend this. And guest house, put all images of UK guest houses from your mind, Maison D'ail is more like boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilsonexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We have just stayed here for 2 nights in a superior room.
We loved the décor and style of the place, both the bedroom & bathroom were spacious and gorgeous and we would have no hesitation in recommending both this Guest House and Franschhoek to anyone - you certainly won't be disappointed!
Many Thanks Clive & Jeannie for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonCooney1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here while in Franschhoek for two nights and absolutely loved it! The Maison d'Ail guest house was located off the main road in a quiet neighborhood. Our room was very clean, well kept, and felt pretty new--same goes for the common/dining area. There were also sun beds by the quaint pool and a second floor deck. They had wi-fi access which was great to check email and upload all the picturesque photos we took there. We both really enjoyed the included morning breakfast meal consisting of muesli with yogurt, fruit, croissants and toast with jam, juice, coffee / tea, and made-to-order eggs. Also service staff were very friendly. Definitely recommend this place if you're spending any number of nights in Franschhoek valley.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank dyangman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.7 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
639 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
530 reviews
4.6 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#20 of 64 in Franschhoek
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#9 of 64 in Franschhoek
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#6 of 64 in Franschhoek
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#14 of 64 in Franschhoek
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison d'Ail Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison d'Ail Guest House

Address: 77 Reservoir Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $103 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison d'Ail Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquility of this newly established guesthouse, Maison d’Ail, owned and run by the Garlick family. Nestled under the Franschhoek mountains, this guesthouse will enable you to relax and unwind in the most tranquil surroundings.Spend your days relaxing at our pool or step out onto the bustling streets of Franschhoek and enjoy top class cuisine and wine at one of the many restaurants and wine farms in the valley.Luxury...amazing views...peace and quiet...who could ask for more? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maison d'Ail Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison d`Ail Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing