We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Dinner”

Franschhoek Kitchen
Ranked #25 of 78 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Franschhoek, one of the culinary hot spots on the African continent. Our estate restaurant - Franschhoek Kitchen, is rated one of the valley's leading restaurants. Franschhoek Kitchen's standards are based on the best international cuisine but our heart lies in the simplicity and pureness of each and every ingredient. High dining is for others, we prefer to see our guests enjoy a home-made dish, inspired by the country we live in and the farm we work on. Our vineyard is heavily influenced by the seasons, so are we, so is our food - nature at its best, brought onto your plate - either in the dining room, amidst the vines outdoors, or in form of a picnic along the Franschhoek river - always with a glass of award winning wine from our estate. Are you going to be taking a adventure on Franschhoek's super popular WINE TRAM? Make sure to stop at Holden Manz and enjoy a light meal downstairs to fill the gap or our delicious a la carte menu upstairs on the deck overlooking the majestic mountains of Franschhoek - a must do!
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Dinner”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My fiance and I were told that the Franschhoek Kitchen is a must visit for foodies visiting the winelands and it did not disappoint! We were very impressed by the food, service, and ambiance. The manager of the restaurant even picked us up and dropped us off after dinner at our hotel as we did not want to drive. We would recommend the place to everyone we know traveling to Cape Town and Franschhoek and we look forward to going back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    84
    23
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was with a group of colleagues attending a 3-day meeting in Franschoek. Holden Manz agreed to open the restaurant for our group of 14. Arriving just after 18:30, we still had sufficient sunlight to drink in the view of the mountains while sipping the excellent Holden Manz Rose. Lovely.

Then an amazing dinner of Ahi Tuna, which was light and refreshing, some wonderful trout, and then the sinful molten chocolate lava cake. Pair all of that with some excellent wine, attentive staff, and by the way, some excellent freshly baked bread, and you have all the elements for an evening of bliss. Would love to come bac.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CeliciaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent once again”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

another visit to my favorite Franschhoek restaurant - food consistantly good, pumpkin gnocchi to start followed by a prawn and pork belly "surf and turf" - no desert this time, but I'll be back for a lazy summer lunch soon !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenchen
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The magic continues”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have not been at Franschhoek Kitchen for a while and it was such a pleasure to be there again. Sometimes a second restaurant visit can be a disappointment but not in this case. Franschhoek Kitchen really has settled comfortably into the position of one of the top restaurants in the area. The formal, yet fun and relaxed atmosphere rounds off the great selection on the menu and fabulous service - an overall super experience.

No doubt, we shall return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogerlitty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and delicious rainy day escape”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I were in Franschhoek for our honeymoon. We stumbled up Holden Manz and decided to first have lunch at Franschhoek Kitchen before doing a tasting. We arrived right at noon and were seated in side dining room with a fireplace. We were the only ones there for quite awhile so we enjoyed a glass of wine by the fire and then had a wonderful lunch. I had the prawn risotto and my husband had the surf and turf with braised pork belly. We shared the delicious chocolate molten cake for dessert. The ambiance and the food were amazing and the staff was great. Our waitress then did a tasting for us in the tasting room. Of the many wineries we visited, Holden Manz was one of our favorites. We purchased the Vernissage, the good sport cape vintage and 2 bottles of the Big G.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CESVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franschhoek Kitchen also viewed

 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Franschhoek Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing