We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing culinary experience”

Pierneef a La Motte
Ranked #4 of 75 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The name of the restaurant was inspired by La Motte's admiration of South African artist Jacob Hendrik Pierneef (1886 - 1957). Pierneef's creativity in portraying the beauty of the South African landscape is echoed in the restaurant's offering of traditional cuisine with a modern interpretation. The restaurant interior blends beautifully with the external surroundings - a fresh, natural look inside is embraced by tranquil gardens and majestic oak trees - where a Winelands Tea with a selection of home-baked delights from the La Motte Farm Shop can be enjoyed. The exclusively arranged Pierneef a La Motte Chef's Table offers a fine-dine menu in line with guests' preferences, as pre-arranged with Chef Michelle Theron, as well as a harmoniously complementing wine selection
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing culinary experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I took my Johannesburg friends to Pierneef as first time visitors to Franschhoek. The food, service and atmosphere was amazing and I was proud to have made such a good choice. Elegan, stylish and classy without exorbitant prices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elmarie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    141
    62
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good wine, food and atmoshpere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have been here a few times and end up spending the whole afternoon. Top restaurant with a great choice of wines.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ViajarForLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Consistently delivers good food and service irrespective of wether it's breakfast, lunch or dinner. Rain or shine the location is beautiful and the wine is good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisaroos14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val d'Isere
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had a lovely lunch in the sun on a winter day. The staff has been really amazing and we came with our baby. Lucky baby going to all those luxury restaurants....
Our meal was absolutly lovely , very well prepared with nice combination of modern presentation and classic Cape Cuisine.
Thank you very much.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PIERFATI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Stunning setting for a lazy lunch. Just felt the quality of the food was not up to scratch for a so-called top restaurant in Franschhoek. Very well prei had the free range chicken and although it was very well presented, it was served cold, and so was the kiddies meal of one of my children. Maybe they were just having a bad day and perhaps their style of food is just not to our liking, but not one person in our family of four felt they had a great meal. This restaurant would have to up its game if it wants to compete with the many other great restaurants in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaarlRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierneef a La Motte also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Pierneef a La Motte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing