We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and venue”

Pierneef a La Motte
Ranked #7 of 83 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The name of the restaurant was inspired by La Motte's admiration of South African artist Jacob Hendrik Pierneef (1886 - 1957). Pierneef's creativity in portraying the beauty of the South African landscape is echoed in the restaurant's offering of traditional cuisine with a modern interpretation. The restaurant interior blends beautifully with the external surroundings - a fresh, natural look inside is embraced by tranquil gardens and majestic oak trees - where a Winelands Tea with a selection of home-baked delights from the La Motte Farm Shop can be enjoyed. The exclusively arranged Pierneef a La Motte Chef's Table offers a fine-dine menu in line with guests' preferences, as pre-arranged with Chef Michelle Theron, as well as a harmoniously complementing wine selection
Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a special place, and it is clear the Rupert dynasty (in this instance Hanneli Koggelenberg) take huge pride in being custodians of South African heritage in this beautiful little corner of the Cape. The restaurant is just superb, not inexpensive, but well worth the price relative to any international destination's dining options. Try the Cape Bokkom salad - it's a winner, and also go for the wine pairing option. Had a lazy Sunday lunch here and it could not have been better. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetta V, culinary manager at Pierneef a La Motte, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for visiting and posting about your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 542 of 763 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

La Motte and Pierneef Resturant have put together a wonderfully decadent 'Winelands Tea' experience. Together with my family and a friend we booked in for an afternoon. Despite my mistake and the additional person; the staff accommodated us and we had a lovely afternoon. The experience offers a choice of specialty teas & coffees as well as a small glass of 'sweet wine'. You are then able to choose between several cakes to accompany your plate if other sweet & savoury items. For an extra R20 you can have a glass of bubbly; but none if us had space!
The food & cakes are all up to the excellent standard if this well renowned resturant and the teas and sweet wines were delicious. Presentation and service were great. If you can grab a spot under the trees do so! An after tea walk would not go amiss-this is not light on the calories!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TaraZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetta V, culinary manager at Pierneef a La Motte, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for visiting and posting about your experience. ( Another great idea would be to walk our hiking trail, to burn off any extra calories. ) Hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wanted to treat my wife on her 50th and we were not disappointed. My wife is gluten intollerent and the staff and chef worked with us on every dish. The meals all turned out delicious. The staff was friendly and helpful. Received 5 star service throughout the evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wbr4368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetta V, Culinary Manager at Pierneef a La Motte, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you visiting and for sharing your wife's special birthday celebration with us. Congratulations and may she have a wonderful year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

On a slightly cooler day we enjoyed the walk through the vineyard and hillside above.You pay a smal amount and they provide a map with stone markers as you proceed on the walk.It's a 2 hr walk and you need good footwear.

We followed this with an light lunch,the quality and presentation of the food here is excellent and highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Badger49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetta V, culinary manager at Pierneef a La Motte, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for visiting Pierneef a La Motte restaurant and posting about your experience.
We look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A stunning restaurant with an open kitchen, professional service and a menu that showcases the region.

Always busy, it is best to make a reservation. The day we went, it was raining so could only sit inside. They have an impressive wine list, and a seasonal menu. Service is top notch.

The food is well presented, good size portions, and extremely tasty. We savored every bite. The wine was served in a stunning decanter, and our glasses were always topped up. The bread board was also very fresh and had a great variety of warm breads. Food was served on slate tiles, beautiful tiles and wooden boards.

If you enjoying watching a kitchen, ask to sit at the bar counter overlooking the kitchen, but ask for the main menu, and not the snack menu.

Loved the place. It is so cheap - less then US$70 for 2 bottles of wine, 2 entree's and 2 mains.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetta V, culinary manager at Pierneef a La Motte, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for visiting Pierneef a La Motte restaurant and posting about your experience.
We look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierneef a La Motte also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Pierneef a La Motte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing