We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”

Pierneef a La Motte
Ranked #2 of 80 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The name of the restaurant was inspired by La Motte's admiration of South African artist Jacob Hendrik Pierneef (1886 - 1957). Pierneef's creativity in portraying the beauty of the South African landscape is echoed in the restaurant's offering of traditional cuisine with a modern interpretation. The restaurant interior blends beautifully with the external surroundings - a fresh, natural look inside is embraced by tranquil gardens and majestic oak trees - where a Winelands Tea with a selection of home-baked delights from the La Motte Farm Shop can be enjoyed. The exclusively arranged Pierneef a La Motte Chef's Table offers a fine-dine menu in line with guests' preferences, as pre-arranged with Chef Michelle Theron, as well as a harmoniously complementing wine selection
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We and friends had a lovely dinner at Pierneefs last night.The setting is fantastic between the vineyards.The ambiance is great and the service is outstanding.The menu is good and the food is very well presented and very tasty.The wines from Lamotte is good quality and well priced.Excellent value for money

Thank Janfourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetta V, culinary manager at Pierneef a La Motte, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for visiting Pierneef @ La Motte and for giving us such wonderful feed-back.
Hope to see you back soon.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
There are newer reviews for Pierneef a La Motte
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

561 - 565 of 731 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Lunch at Pierneef a la Motte is always special in my opinion. Haved dined here a few times and have always had great meals. The menu is rather carnivorous but I always manage to find a vegetarian option! We ordered a garden salad (large) to share. It was a herb salad with nuts and roast vegetables. It was tasty but was 80% lettuce leaves and not much of anything else. This is where the disappointment ended! I ordered a caramelised baby onion, apple and sage tarte. It was absolutely delicious! Beautifully textured tart with a hint of sage. I ordered a side of roast vegetables which complimented the tart perfectly. My husband ordered the preserved lemon and rosemary braised Karoo lamb shank, he said it was very tasty and tender. Our meal was complimented with La Motte wine. Our waitress was attentive, friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu. Chris Erasmus is an incredible chef with such interesting menu choices. I always pop into the farm shop on leaving, to stock up on some delicious cakes.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SammyKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

What an absolute treat for our group of friends and family. The kids did their own thing outside on the lawn, enjoying their own pizzas whilst we were being treated to some of the finest cuisine in the country, not to be missed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Batavians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We went to La Motte for a wine tasting, which was great. Our problems came when we decided to order tea. We sat inside and no one came near us tho there were many waiters milling around! We then decided to move outside, where all we could see was a grassy over rated childrens menu....R60 for a childrens sandwich! We asked to see a menu but were just told verbally what might be available from kitchen...like 'soup', no priceless no nothing. So we took to our legs and left! Seems a very disorganized place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank shamemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetta V, culinary manager at Pierneef a La Motte, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for visiting Pierneef @ La Motte. We apologise for your dissapointment and will use your valuable feed-back to improve and reach the high standards that we set to achieve.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Enjoyed the wine and the garden setting, my food was average but my wife had an awful plate of risotto, smelly and inedible and send the food back, not withstanding they charged me the full amount. Will not visit again.

Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetta V, culinary manager at Pierneef a La Motte, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We are sorry to hear about your dissapointing experience. Thank you for sending us valuable feed-back that enables us to improve and we hope to invite you back to taste our delicious food and warm hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierneef a La Motte also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Pierneef a La Motte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing