We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit...”

Monneaux Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 79 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Monneaux Restaurant ranks among South Africa's top restaurants, and serves an inspired contemporary take on the classics. Lunch is enjoyed on the fountain terrace under a spreading pepper tree while dinner is enjoyed in the elegant but relaxed dining room in the original manor house. Set on the original site of Franschhoek's first parfumerie, today its the heavenly scent of chef Adrian Buchanans cooking that inspires at the Monneaux Restaurant, a Cape culinary classic. Even by the food & wine capital of the country's high standards, Monneaux is an extra-ordinary success, having been in the country's Top 100 list for six years consecutively, on the Top 10 list for two years and winning the American Express Platinum Award for fine dining. The underground cellar is available for private functions where dinner can be enjoyed by an impressive selection of local and foreign wines. The restaurant's bar lounge provide a comfortable environment to relax and enjoy the company you're with. The wine list emphasizes the boutique wines of the Franschhoek Valley as well as an impressive selection of other award winning wines of South Africa
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a visit...”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Food amazing. We had the tasting menu for one and a fillet of steak. All fantastic. Service was exceptional. Wine and food on the tasting plate very well matched showcasing both the food and the wine. We also had lovely bar snacks next to the pool. Definitely recommend a visit

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    105
    34
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Had a really good dinner at Monneaux. They had complimentary pick-up service which I thought was a fantastic service.
Wine and food was well presented and prepared, if I had to state anything negative it is that there was a little too much "going on" in each dish....Some flavours were drowned out. But all in all it did not spoil my dinner.
The place itself is beautiful, like a provencal country estate and the staff was so nice and friendly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJohannessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Luxury food”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I went to this restaurant after reading good reviews and we were not disappointed. The food was 5 star as was the service. They picked us up in a courtesy a van which was great too. The waitress was very lively. Recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ams255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely food, and great service”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had the tasting menu here, just stopping for some food and not the accomodation, We really enjoyed it but they were pretty stingy with the wine for tasting with the food, in fact several times by the time the food had arrived I'd drunk the 1/4 glass of wine I got with each course, which I felt was a shame as it's an up market restaurant and you pay for it!
Otherwise really enjoyed it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimR04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best of Franschoek Country Hotel and Villas”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel was lovely but their food amazing.
We had the tasting menu, 5 courses with differents wines all of them top quality.
Lovely beetrout salad and duck confit!! Also dessert was great.
Inviting someone there will not ever be a mistake.
Special mention for the waiters, lovely people (more than the manager).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monneaux Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Monneaux Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing