We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Galiniere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Galiniere Guest Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Galiniere Guest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
2 reviews
“La Galiniere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at La Galiniere. Very comfortable room, kind and friendly hosts.The complimentary bottle of wine was very good. I would've liked an outside table and chairs. Few cobwebs in the corner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    59
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
69
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I would definitely stay there again. Peaceful..Great Location.. Staff.... Gorgeous well behaved dogs... If needed ideal for long term stays too. I can highly recommend the cottages.Close to all amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Delightful cottage set in small vineyard in close proximity to Franschoek. The bedroom and lounge were very comfortable and the entire cottage was very well equipped. The complimentary bottle of wine was appreciated and we will recommend L G to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Clean & comfortable room complete with kitchenette & modern bathroom. My only wish was for my room to have an outdoor seating area. But the complimentary Estate-grown Cab Sauv was very good quality & a welcome gift.The property is a conveniently located small vineyard 2 minutes outside of the Franschoek village.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sheila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The owners Alan and Wendy really bent over backwards to make us
feel welcome even though our plane was delayed. The grounds are a tiny
homely family vineyard, more like a spacious garden; with a friendly atmosphere and 3 well- behaved dogs who roam about and made us feel very
secure. The owners and the staff had exactly the right mix of helpfulness,
friendliness, and leaving us alone. Hard to describe, but it would not say
that in a tourist brochure.
The surrounding area is stunningly beautiful and the weather in mid-February was hot and sunny ( 26- 34 ) about 18 at night.

Room Tip: All 3 cottages are just one storey, facing the garden. All 3 feel secuded when you are inside or en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

It's was my 3th time i visited La Galiniere Guest Cottages.
When you comes back, it means that you are satisfied with the place. So i am.

But if i visit La Galiniere Guest Cottages again in the future the swimming pool and services around the pool must up to standard (cleanliness) again.

The room and the location are perfect for a citytrip to Franschhoek.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ghent_BelgiumFred_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGaliniere, Owner at La Galiniere Guest Cottages, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
As an accommodation owner yourself, you will no doubt appreciate that feedback directly to the owners is always appreciated in order to maintain high standards. We had the chance to chat several times during your three night stay and yet you never mentioned anything about the cleanliness of the swimming pool.
Our swimming pool is maintained by a local specialist pool company, which visits on a weekly basis. Because the pool is surrounded by trees, there are occasions when the foliage falls into the pool. Had you mentioned that the surface of the pool needed to be cleaned, we would have been more than happy to take care of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

After reading reviews of this place I booked to stay two nights in the Shiraz Cottage. First let me say others have mentioned their 3 alsation dogs. I am NOT a dog lover but they didn't bother me. Yes they did come to greet us but when told to go away they did or just laid outside our cottage. I must say the ower who showed us around was very nice but I was a bit disappointed in the cottage itself. You enter thru a door into a little hall. On the right is the B&B office, the door on the left is to the cottage. Once in there you come into a very small hallway (6'x4') There is small round table and two metal chairs (this is where you eat your meals!). To the left is the kitchen which is excellently stocked with whatever you will need to cook. To the right of the entrance hall is the bedroom which is OK and the bathroom is straight in front of you. It was rather warm so we left our door open but of course the office is just there as well so really no privacy if the lass is working there and the dogs may wander in. To eat your meals you have to sit at the small table in the hallway--no windows and no room or cart them outside which is fine if it isn't raining. Shiraz cottage is clean but basic BUT I think the best thing about it was the bottle of their own red wine left in the kitchen. It was GREAT.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGaliniere, Owner at La Galiniere Guest Cottages, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Shiraz Cottage is our smallest cottage and, as the guest notes, does not have a living/dining room. As far as I am aware, all the websites that La Galiniere can be booked through make it clear that Shiraz Cottage does not have a living room. The cottage is ideal for those who do not plan to spend a significant amount of time on the farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
0.1 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.3 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
0.0 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#12 of 65 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Galiniere Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Galiniere Guest Cottages

Property: La Galiniere Guest Cottages
Address: La Galiniere | Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Galiniere Guest Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Franschhoek Valley on a secluded boutique wine farm, La Galiniere Guest Cottages provide clean, comfortable and affordable high quality accommodation ideal for overnight and longer stays. Both self-catering cottages have two bedrooms and provide twin or king size beds. Just 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of Franschhoek, you're always close to the range of shops, restaurants and attractions of this premier destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Galiniere Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing