We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very affordable and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Galiniere Guest Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed at the Cabernet cottage and we enjoyed our stay very much. You get what you pay for. La Galiniere is rated three star and that is fair. We have slept in four star hotels that are not up to the standard we met at La Galiniere.
The cottage was fresh and well cleaned. Very cosy indeed. Kitchen was small but it served its purpose. Bedroom and bed was good and the living room/lounge made us fall asleep in the sofas a couple of times. The bathroom was also nice.
La Galiniere must be one of the most affordable places to stay at in the Franschhoek region.
The three dogs were no problem at all. The dogs made the cottage and its surroundings even more cosy and they are very kind. If you tell them to back off they do so, for example when you having a snack outside:).
The pool and the suchairs is a nice touch as well.
The drawbacks were the mosquitos that bothered us at night and that the bedroom was hot some nights. There is a big fan that we used, but it is noisy. We put the fan in the hall and directed the air into the bedroom and it worked out fine.
The distance to the restaurants and shops in town are walkable, but if you go when the sun is still up be prepared to be sweaty. It takes roughly 15-20 min if you walk in a normal pace.
We really recommend to hire bicycles and explore the wineries. Also to do a visit to the wineries on horseback is very nice experience. Outstanding sceneries overlooking Franschhoek.
The Allora restaurant nearby surprised us. Really good food and service. Recommended!
Overall we were indeed satisfied with our stay and will surely recommend La Galiniere to our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swede-Johansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 143 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

Very clean and welcoming. Nice touch with the gift of home produced wine. Cottage well appointed. Perfect for visiting the Franschoek wineries......Lunch at Boschendal is still a treat!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulburchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

These cottages are on a picturesk vineyard in Franschhoek and close to all the attractions on this amazing town. The stay was cheap and the owners were very helpful and friendly. I would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wez-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Wife and I stayed here for a night. Owner was really friendly to us, even lending us her personal DVDs and her WiFi connection! House was clean, which was important to us. Overall, good value self-catering choice.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank nemanjavidic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The dogs were lovely, it had a bed and a shower. Well equipped kitchen which was no use in Franschhoek which you visit for the food!

Overpriced compared with other places we stayed. Could do with cleaning the carpets too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAJE1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGaliniere, Owner at La Galiniere Guest Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2012

Franschhoek is one of South Africa's premier destinations. Accommodation therefore tends to be more expensive than many other locations in the country. We believe that any search through the major booking sites will demonstrate that La Galiniere Guest Cottages provides good value for money accommodation within Franschhoek.
Franschhoek is also popular, as the guest indicates, as a food and wine destination - there are a wide variety of restaurants and wineries offering excellent, good value cuisine. However, many of our guests stay with us for long periods of time and therefore appreciate having a well-equipped kitchen, especially families with children.
We apologize the guest was not happy with the cleanliness of the carpets. The carpets in Cabernet Cottage have now been replaced throughout, as has the hall carpet in Shiraz Cottage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

The guest cottages are at the end of Franschhoek town but it's only about a 10min walk, and it's worth it to stay in this stunning cottage. The cottage is clean, spacious, and has all amenities you would expect - TV, Fridge, Kettle etc. The location of the cottate is stunning as well, as it is based in the vineyard - though I'm not sure if they produce wine for sale here.

There are dogs on the grounds roaming freely - but they are friendly, it's just as a warning should you have an alergy or phobia.

Finally, I would like to say a thank you to the maid - who was fantastically welcoming on arrival, and couldn't do enough to ensure we were happy and comfortable, including the free loan of some bikes.

All in all very recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank blyth76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay. Was initially worried about the traffic noise, as it is straight off the main road going into town, but our cottage was set the furthest back and enjoyed the privacy and sound-damping of thick shrubbery and hedging. Very peaceful atmosphere. You can walk to town - takes approx 10 minutes.
Unfortunately didn't receive the complimentary wine promised in the brochure, but aside from that, found the cottage very clean, and attractive, and the owners friendly and efficient. Bathroom and kitchen were modern and cutlery/crockery were good quality. Lounge comfy although a couple of table lamps would improve the ambience and make for a cosier atmosphere at night. Bedroom was fine and bed was comfy. We'd stay there again. Sarah J

Room Tip: Ask for the Cabernet cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGaliniere, Owner at La Galiniere Guest Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2012

So sorry you didn't receive the complimentary bottle of wine.
Come and stay with us again and we will give you six complimentary bottles by way of an apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.4 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
692 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#15 of 64 in Franschhoek
310 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#14 of 64 in Franschhoek
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Centre-Ville Guest House
Centre-Ville Guest House
#26 of 64 in Franschhoek
325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 64 in Franschhoek
620 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ivy Apartments
The Ivy Apartments
#2 of 42 in Franschhoek
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Galiniere Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Galiniere Guest Cottages

Address: La Galiniere | Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: $78 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Galiniere Guest Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Franschhoek Valley on a secluded boutique wine farm, La Galiniere Guest Cottages provide clean, comfortable and affordable high quality accommodation ideal for overnight and longer stays. Both self-catering cottages have two bedrooms and provide twin or king size beds. Just 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of Franschhoek, you're always close to the range of shops, restaurants and attractions of this premier destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Galiniere Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing