We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grande Provence owners cottage - you cant get better in SA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grande Provence Estate The Owner's Cottage
Ranked #33 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2010

You can’t get better than the owners cottage at Grande Provence, when staying in South Africa. It has to be one of the most beautiful locations in this country. The pictures in the brochures don’t capture the magnificence of the estate, the accommodation and the excellent food served at the restaurant. The staff here have been world class, wonderful; all our needs accommodated, and are sure to return.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank SeanG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate The Owner's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear SeanG13

What a delightful review and feedback!

We are very proud of our beautiful setting and gardens, and nurture it with the utmost care. It is a pleasure to get such a response to prove that our guests also positively experience and recognise it.

Be assured that the whole team had been notified of your kind words. We hope to welcome you back sooner than later at the Owner’s Cottage or any of our other sister properties for another memorable stay.

Kind Regards

Karien Vorster-van Heeren

Guest Relations
Huka Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 75 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2010

I am currently staying at the Owner's Cottage at the Grande Provence in South Africa. It is a shameful disaster. I sincerely hope that the other properties belonging to this group live up to their fame because the South African experience is a total disgrace. The estate and accommodations are nowhere near as beautiful as they appear in photographs, and worst of all, the service is ridiculous. The Owner's Cottage at the Grande Provence undelivers its outrageous overpromises. Never in my lifetime have I wrote a complaint about a hotel or restaurant, but this place is offensive to our intelligence and does not deserve any praise whatsoever. It is by far the most disrespectful establishment I have ever been to.

6  Thank nizanguanaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaea, Guest Relations Manager at Grande Provence Estate The Owner's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear Nizanguanues

Although some time has passed, we felt your comments warranted a reply as they are somewhat out of step with most feedback we receive.

We realise that the FIFA World Cup Quarter Final between Holland and Brazil took place during your stay. So it is understandable that your experience would have been affected as Wesley Sneijder of Holland crushed the dreams of Brazil to play in the Final. That would have been heart breaking for all supporters of Brazil.

Naturally it is disappointing that you were not impressed with the beautiful Estate. Grande Provence has received many accolades and has been showcased in many luxury travel magazines and garden shows including “The House & Leisure” – Best of SA Awards – where the Owners Cottage was voted Top Hotel in South Africa.

However, we do not sit on our laurels. We strive to provide the highest quality service, and are constantly endeavouring to improve every facet of our operation. So, we took your feedback very seriously. The Manager of the Estate scrutinised every detail of your visit in order to see where we could have gone wrong, and all staff involved in your stay were made aware of your comments.

We hope in the future that you will choose to experience the highest quality accommodation that The Huka Retreats has to offer. As the Owner of Grande Provence is Dutch, he is guessing that Holland and Brazil will be in the FIFA 2014 finals! He would love to watch it with you!

Kind Regards
Karien van Heeren
Guest Relations – Huka Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele2016chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: "Cabernet Suite" du Owner's Cottage hâvre de paix avec jardin privé, piscine et jaccuz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tleroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeProvenceEstate, PA at Grande Provence Estate The Owner's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank CarlaYone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeProvenceEstate, PA at Grande Provence Estate The Owner's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeProvenceEstate, PA at Grande Provence Estate The Owner's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pmathery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.5 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
181 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
685 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#16 of 64 in Franschhoek
294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
389 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holden Manz Country House
Holden Manz Country House
#4 of 64 in Franschhoek
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Provence Estate The Owner's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Provence Estate The Owner's Cottage

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $334 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Provence Estate The Owner's Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Provence Heritage Wine Estate wears her 300-year history with style. Nestled within the Franschhoek Valley in the Western Cape, surrounded by 47-acres of lush vines, this is heartland South African wine country at its finest. The Estate is home to Grande Provence’s award-winning wines and its passionate wine making team. Following harvest every year, carefully selected wines leave the Estate to compete in some of the world’s most prestigious competitions – the number and frequency of the awards bears testament to their success. A sophisticated destination in its own right, Grande Provence proudly presents superb cuisine at The Restaurant, fine wines at The Tasting Room, some of South Africa’s finest art at The Gallery & The Shop, receptions and boutique conferences at The Jonkershuis and 5-star accommodation at The Owner’s Cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grande Provence Estate The Owner's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing