We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice winery lunch”

Fyndraai restaurant at Solms-Delta
Ranked #44 of 75 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Cuisines: African, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Fyndraai is an exciting restaurant with a local twist, on the Solms-Delta wine estate outside Franschhoek. The food, like its adventurous wines, lives up to the Solms-Delta claim of being proudly Hiervandaan (‘from this place’). You not only walk into history in the 325-year-old wine farm restaurant, you walk OVER it. The glass floor covers the archaeological substructure of a 1740 wine cellar.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice winery lunch”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were supposed to have a picnic but there was a mix up with my vegetarian basket and we ended up eating on the own of the restaurant at a table instead. It was very enjoyable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Baldwingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    48
    15
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Favorite picnic spot in the Winelands”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I invited friends for a picnic at Solms-Delta and it was a most memorable autumn afternoon which I will gladly return to. We started with a wine tasting and us ladies especially loved the Jazz Shiraz which we promptly bought a few bottles of and enjoyed one with our picnic. Baskets were loaded onto a tractor and we were whisked off to the picnic spot next to a river stream where the kids cooled off and we kept the wine cold. The setting is simply glorious and the food was delicious. Dessert was not great though, as I dont think fruit salad is the best option to serve for a picnic...it became a little warm & soggy. Personally I would prefer the food to be served in something other than white styrofoam just because it doesnt look pretty (reminds me more of fish & chips takeway), but it serves its purpose and the plastic drinking glasses have seen better days. Also, the blankets provided are really small, so I will bring my own next time. This would not deter me from having another picnic at Solms-Delta though and I'll bring another few friends along again when spring arrives.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank omnitravelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
324 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Lovely setting but overall average”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Fyndraai restaurant is a lovely restaurant with a massive patio and brilliant views but sadly everything else about this establishment is average. The service is I not attentive and slow , the food is average and the wine list limited. All and all not a return destination.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnerton, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our favourite winelands restaurant”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We've been raving about Solms-Delta, Musem van de Caab and Fyndraai for several years now. A few weeks ago we took friends from the UK for lunch, and they were very impressed by the wine tasting (one fell in love with the Gemoedsrus fortified shiraz and another with the Africana shiraz - a real stonker of a wine), the musem, and the vibe. There is a real sense of 'rootedness' at Fyndraai as evidenced by the wall commemorating every slave that has worked on the farm, and the glass floor showing off the foundations of the old farm house in which the restaurant is situated. Hence 'Hiervandaan', another lovely wine.

Lunch itself has never disappointed. My wife and I have always enjoyed the use of local herbs and shrubs like 'Boegoe' and fynbos in the cooking. And it's always exquisitely presented, with attentive service. We look forward to visiting again, this time for a picnic in the picturesque grounds. With a glass of Cape Jazz Shiraz: a real lekker lunch bubbly with a little touch of body. Til next time...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great winelands lunch!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We made a booking for Sunday lunch to celebrate a birthday and I'm glad we did because the restaurant was buzzing when we arrived. The terrace is more of a veranda looking onto the lawns. Very pretty and neat but not botanical gardens. The service was polite. What really impresses at Fyndraai is the food: traditional South African dishes presented beautifully with special consideration given to each ingredient. I thoroughly enjoyed my 'Meal of the Day', the waterblommetjie bredie (a lamb stew with the unusual addition of waterblommetjies - an edible plant traditional to the Cape), and I was equally impressed with my companions dishes chosen off the menu.
I do not hesitate to recommend Fyndraai - their truely South African menu has been expertly constructed and makes for perfectly delicious fine dining.
We'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BookEndDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fyndraai restaurant at Solms-Delta also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Fyndraai restaurant at Solms-Delta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing