We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing picnic at Solms Delta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solms-Delta Farm Tours

Solms-Delta Farm Tours
Ranked #23 of 57 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As one of the leading Franschhoek wine farms in the Cape Winelands, Solms-Delta’s special interest guided tours exceed the conventional wine tasting experience.Our unique guided wine farm tours expose visitors to more than just award-winning wines. Led primarily by farm residents, the tours offer rare personal insight into the vineyards, farm workers’ lives, and the cultural and musical heritage of Solms-Delta and the surrounding Cape Winelands.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing picnic at Solms Delta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This review is not on the Farm Tour, but rather on the picnic at Solms Delta.
We were warmly greeted on arrival and entertained by a character known as "Lambchops" and had a look around - it was a little bit early for wine tasting (11am!), so once all our friends arrived, we hopped onto the tractor (which my 2 year-old thoroughly enjoyed!) and were taken down to the river for our picnic. The tractor left and returned a few minutes later with our picnic baskets, which were packed to the brim with delicious food and wine! We spent the next 2 hours eating, drinking and chatting in the shade of the oak trees and a few of us even went to dip our toes in the little river that flows alongside the picnic spot.
Highly recommended and will be doing it again soon!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Springbok1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    44
    11
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Living Heritage...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending the afternoon at Solms Delta today. WOW!! Firstly meandering through spectacular and magestic scenery to get there, our guide Johan was at hand to welcome us and show us around, offering a fascinating insight into the estate and the rich culture and heritage, it is encouraging to witness past, present and future! The museum is informative, the wine tasting delicious, personal and intimate, the cake and coffee on the stoep after was the highlight to ensure a memorable and truely South African experience!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChavonnesMUSEUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoy a glass of fine wine and give back too -”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We chose to visit Solms Delta because we heard that the owners have a reputation for giving back to the community. It was also highly recommended by our guesthouse's owner. We loved the quaint museum/tasting room and found the wines were quite good. Unfortunately, it was late in the day and we felt that our tastings were a bit rushed. Don't miss a visit to thier unique archeological dining room.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CAGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Community staple with only 1 unique offering”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The archealogical setting was not that compelling and the exterior was not as well manicured as other wineries. However, the farm supports many local students and gives back to the community. We did discover an excellent dessert wine that was a blend with grappa. Quite good!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tinaalex01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outreach winery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Solms Delta has an interestin museum, good wine tasting, and serves the local community with skills training, family caring and emplyment. Go and find out more.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solms-Delta Farm Tours also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Paarl, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Solms-Delta Farm Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing