We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a collection”

The Franschhoek Motor Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$181.60*
and up
Full-Day Cape Town Based Wine Safari with Wine Pairing and Franschhoek Motor...
Ranked #1 of 57 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Franschhoek Motor Museum offers visitors a special opportunity to look back at more than 100 years of motoring history with its unique and exciting collection of vehicles, motorcycles, bicycles and memorabilia in the magnificent setting of L'Ormarins. Across the length and breadth of Southern Africa, only one place can adequately portray the evolution of the automobile, The Franschhoek Motor Museum.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a collection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I am not a car buff but even I was impressed. Such a fantastic collection and beautifully presented. This place is crying out for a wow factor coffee table book. If I had been able to purchase such a book I would have rated the museum excellent.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GrammyandPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    906
    256
    19
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

my husband loved the beautiful vinatage cars and the history behind it. Some of the cars were the cars of the Rupert family. About 80 cars, all in great state/restored. A must see in Franschoek.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
431 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

An exhibition of 80 cars from the early days to now. Fantastic collection and all beautifully restored and looked after. Makes one envious to look at all these beautiful old cars. Something for everyone to enjoy.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank PretoriaTravelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Motor Museum? Fantasy Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

We stopped here as I like looking at old cars and thought we might see some nice models if lucky. After a look through just the first building I thought I had died and gone to heaven and it just got better. Some of the cars are so rare they are worth some millions each, what a fantastic collection - If you are ever near the area pay a visit, get some wine at the same time and make sure you try the milkshakes.....

Helpful?
4 Thank PeterSCoulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Grove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Wow! An unbelievable display of Fantastic Transport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

We were on our way to Solms Vineyard outside Franschhoeck when we passed a classic car at the entrance to this Museum. We decided to call back the next day even though we are not car fanatics. What we saw was the most fantastic selection of Cars in immaculate condition going back 100 years. T model Fords to F1 racing cars. Almost 100 assembled in 4 barn like buildings. They have over 250 cars which they rotate every 3-4 months. You can even wine taste as they are in a Vineyard. Words could not describe our amazement. It is a must for anyone. Please just go along and have a look.

Helpful?
3 Thank a3whd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Franschhoek Motor Museum also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to The Franschhoek Motor Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing