We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe BonBon

Cafe BonBon
Ranked #4 of 75 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Returning now to Paarl / Franschhoek for our third year's escape from the European winter, a visit to Bon Bon Cafe in Franschhoek , Cape Winelands is always a pleasure. Last Sunday's lunch was no disappointment. ......First class hospitality, great food and wonderful ambiance. Even the cockerel is still strutting around!
Will be visiting many time before returning to Europe in Spring 2014.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ANother2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    185
    62
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a view, what a dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Some work colleagues and I attended a delectable evening at Cafe Bon Bon. Standing on the lawn, drinking excellent wine, and stunning scenery made for a wonderful start. Follow that up with some excellent food, amazing setting (indoor), and staff who aim to meet all your needs, and you could not had had a better night.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CeliciaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not drive past Cafe BonBon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have been to cafe BonBon on a regular basis. We had break fast, lunch and even dinner on a Wednesday evening. The whole experience of visiting cafe BonBon is just great. Food, wine people, atmosphere just great.

When we get visitors, it is just a great excuse to go to Cafe BonBon.

You can make a reservation on the internet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank braets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taste bud delight - a must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Cafe BonBon has to be one of the best restaurants I have ever had the privilege of experiencing. The service was great, location and surroundings unreal and the food like none other. Each mouthful was an explosion of unforgettable taste. Really worth visiting when you are next in Franchhoek. I will be dreaming of pork belly tonight!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank babyboid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Petite Dauphine over the Bastille day weekend. We had the pleasure of eating breakfast here both mornings of our stay and chose to eat lunch here as well on our arrival day. It was a great quiet, relaxed respite from bustle of Bastille day celebrations in town. The food was excellent and the surroundings warm and cosy complete with roaring fire and resident rooster strutting around.
We had eaten here 2 years previously and at that point decided that on our next trip to the Cape we would come back and actually stay this time. The accommodation is superb but that is for another review.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dallia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe BonBon also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe BonBon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing