We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Allora

Allora
Ranked #14 of 75 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual, yet Sophisticated, Authentic Italian. 3 Seating Areas available, Outside, Downstairs and Upstairs. Cozy Interior with a Central Pizza Oven. Nice Roaring Fireplaces during the Winter time and open areas outside during summer time. We offer Coctails during the summer outside. Booking always essential. Please make use of our Complimentary Shuttle Service between the Guest Houses and Hotels within Franschhoek Town (When Available). We have Specials Daily and a Kids Menu.
south africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“value value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

this is still the best value in franschhoek,without a doubt.the myth of franschhoek being the gourmet capital of the cape is nonsense,people look for value and good healthy food .allora offers excellent value without pretention.this eaterie has attreacted many foreign visitors and capetonians,all enjoying really basic good food.i have eaten there manyt times and never had a bad meal ,highly recommended,great ambience and management always around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philip a, Owner at Allora, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, and for taking the time to review us.
We do try to produce value for money, without being "cheap".
Hope to keep on serving you and to equal and better your expectations.
Regards.
Philip and the Allora team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    291
    86
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a really tasty dinner here recently - starters, main and dessert with wine. All 3 course were very tasty and beautifully presented. Service was friendly and efficient, and the restaurant itself warm and cosy- they had 2 logs fires burning which really helped. (It was 8 degrees outside!)
We loved that they were so unpretentious, prices are very reasonable, and the vibe casual and friendly.
We have had lunch here before which was just as good. The menu also caters to every taste.
O, and a real bonus, they close at 11pm.
Thanks!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wholesome grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Great find! Despite having cousins in Joburg it's a great fit for Franschhoek and holds it's own really well vs some of it's neighbours.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dice_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unpretentious brilliance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our best meal in Franschhoek.

Our hosts recommended Allora (who collected us and dropped of at no charge in a little shuttle bus), and we were't disappointed.

It is warm in so many ways. You are warmly greeted by the friendly hosts on arrival, there are two fireplaces to keep you warm, and the ambiance and decor is just plain warm.

The food, as was the whole experience was uncomplicatedly amazing. Try the veal piccata with polenta, it was awesome, as was the fillet steak with melted Muscarpone, and the Nutella dessert.

Good large wine list, and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markbarlow828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I always take my family to Allora”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

When my family comes to Franschhoek I always take them to Allora.

Enough said. Great food, friendly staff, nice atmosphere.

Prices very reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank braets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allora also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Allora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing