We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, friendly Italian” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allora

Allora
Ranked #14 of 75 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual, yet Sophisticated, Authentic Italian. 3 Seating Areas available, Outside, Downstairs and Upstairs. Cozy Interior with a Central Pizza Oven. Nice Roaring Fireplaces during the Winter time and open areas outside during summer time. We offer Coctails during the summer outside. Booking always essential. Please make use of our Complimentary Shuttle Service between the Guest Houses and Hotels within Franschhoek Town (When Available). We have Specials Daily and a Kids Menu.
Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Restaurant has a really good ambience, the food was good, and good value. The service was exceptionally warm, friendly and helpful. Would go again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jsyfitzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    283
    86
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bad service, average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Wow, this was disappointing.
We unfortunately/unintentionally just pulled into town at the dinner hour and not a seat was available in the whole of Franschhoek town (which can be expected) but a helpful host at one of the booked-out places said that you could get into Allora without a reservation- I expected average food to be the reason, which it was, for the most part: there was a foreign piece of fish bone in the stuffed calamari appetizer (which was otherwise tasty so I was willing to overlook it). There was no linguini with clams available which was a shame since it was the one pasta I really was interested in, so (because the waitress was as much help as a box of rocks recommending another alternative) we went for a stab in the dark and the tortelli looked interesting in the menu description but came out... well, totally different. And uninteresting. Like canned-aritchoke and plain noodles stuffed with mince-uninteresting. The tortelli came in the most bland and boring tomato purée-tasting red sauce I ever had (and only 6 pieces of pasta), and my spouse's saltimbocca was two of the driest pieces of non-juicy, over-cooked chicken pieces imaginable. The latter was served with "risotto" which was basically (what looked/tasted like) Tastic rice with some yellow broth-colour, and cold at that. With some sautéed veggies with a few accidental foreign noodles in them, like they'd been scooped off someone else's plate who'd ordered a spaghetti dish(?).
Then, there was the issue of the service.
In a place like Franschhoek, you don't expect:
The waitress (who appeared to be about 17 years old) to dump a glass of wine on you; to repeat your order back to you and call it "that...chicken...thing"; to tell you that your dish comes with a WHITE pasta sauce so that you order a completely different wine than what you would've if you'd thought it was a tomato sauce (we ordered our dinner wine an hour after she took our initial orders since service was so slow and by which time I had forgotten the details of my order since it was a runner-up choice & had to ask for a reminder when we placed our wine order). Upon seeing the red sauce come out on our meal delivery, the waitress sheepishly apologised and tried to tell us "oops, they were out of white sauce" (upon looking at the menu it clearly says "Napoli sauce with a dash of cream"?!!?!).
Additional waitress blunders: no napkins/serviette offered, we ended up asking for them halfway through dinner and getting ONE (to share?), she cleared one of our plates while the other was only 1/3rd of the way through dinner either a) trying to get us to get a move on or b) have fun sitting in front of an empty table without so much as a spoon with which to share a bit of the other's food. The side salad that came with one main FINALLY found its way out to our table about 15 minutes after the mains, even though a serving assistant brought mains out on giant tray with plenty of room for a wee plate of salad.
Ultimately this is the dining experience I'd expect somewhere out in the rural countryside where you'd only have 3 average restaurants to choose from, and untrained waitrons are the norm. Not in the culinary capital of SA where white tablecloths and 5star chefs are the "branding" that the town is going for. Yes, Allora is down to earth and unpretentious. But a bit too much so for what most visitors to Franschhoek probably expect from an Italian restaurant selling mains for R115.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JWBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
220 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Yum, yum, yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Even as a food lover, I find a lot of restaurants in Franschhoek very pretentious but not this one. The menu is extensive and will please even the most difficult eaters. We were given lovely little soft rolls with an olive tapenade and olive oil and balsamic vinegar for dipping, to whet our appetites.
We started with Spuntini, little plates of bite size morsals, of which there are about 15 different varieties to choose from , ranging in price from R16 - R30. We chose little strips of veal in lemon, whole prawns in a honey and chilli dressing that were so good, we ordered another portion, and fried halloumi cheese which was accompanied by 2 different dipping sauces, both yum.
For our main course, we had a T-Bone steak, excellent value at R99 and cooked to perfection; and a whole baby chicken grilled in the pizza oven with chilli, garlic, olive oil and herbs. Both were presented on a bed of lovely vegetables and we had a choice of roast potatoes, mash or polenta.
The pizzas and pastas that others were eating looked very good and there is also a large selection of antipastis starters, as well as the spuntinit and lots of salads. The service was very attentive and the waitress friendly and accommodating. The decor is inviting and creates a nice atmosphere and there is also outdoor eating in good weather. We had a great meal and would be happy to return.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bld211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansstad, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Three of us went out to have some italian food. Allora at the main road in the Franshoek vallley was our destination. We had Dinner inside. The food was excellent, the atmosphere very nice and the service attentive in every way. I had a small morarella tomatoe salad as a starter, a huge Pizza Margherita as main dish and I finished with a Mango sorbet. Allora may be not cheap by local standards, but worth every Rand.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cormalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best in Franschhoek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We eat in Franschhoek relatively often, and have eaten at many restaurants, including the "famous" ones.
Allora has consistantly been the best by far in terms of service, ambiance, friendliness, food quality, and value for money.
The prawn pasta, porcini mushroom pasta and veal dishes are our favourite.
Keep it up and we will continue comming back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank petra_michaelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allora also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Allora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing