We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing kindness meets excellent rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
Ranked #50 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Böblingen
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing kindness meets excellent rooms”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Our stay in Franschhoek was unforgettable. The lovely valley with the beautiful vicinity are well worth a journey.

The rooms in 22 Wijk Street are good equipped and always clean. The breakfast-Package is quite enough for the first appetite. Despite the lack of air conditioning, it was not too hot in the rooms.

Besides the great variety of restaurants and vineyards in Franschhoek, Alta & Addey (the hosts of 22 Wijk Street) made our stay to a gorgeous experience. Thank you!

We will come back if we are planning to stay in Franschhoek again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DocAlexM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here in March of 2012, a bit of a late review but better late than never. This guest house is just pure value for money.The rooms are well decorated, clean and comfortable. The hosts are fantastic and the location is unbeatable. We could walk to the main street where all the restaurants are. My boyfriend and I had a fantastic time here and it is one of our best holiday memories. If I ever am lucky enough to stay in Franschoek again I will be back! Do not hesitate to book here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyTravelBugSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Addey and Alta are great hosts who have opened up a portion of their home for guests. Our small group stayed here for one night and we will definitely return since this must be the best value for money in Franshhoek.

The house is just one block from the main strip and all of the main restaurants. It is even within walking distance from some wineries.

This house has a nice small garden that can be used during the summer a quiet spot and it has a small kitchen that can be used to cook up family meals.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hvarcegovac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here Dec 2012 when we visited with our family of 10 including a six month baby. It was such a find; like having a home in Franschoek. Excellent email communication with our hosts who when we arrived were present if needed but unobtrusive unlike other stops on the Garden Route. Our room which was the largest would do justice to five star hotel. Since we had booked this as a hostel we were brilliantly surprised. Alta booked us into a local reasonable restaurant where game was on the menu. Every help was offered. A gem in Franschoek.

Room Tip: Two main rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elguapo069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Addey and Alta were incredibly welcoming when our group of four arrived 2 hours before check-in. It wasn't a problem at all and we were shown to two very comfortable and spacious rooms.

After mentioning that we were there for a wine festival, the hosts even provided us with some "Prohep" to help with potential hangovers.

It was a cold evening when we returned to our rooms, only to find the heaters had been switched on and there were hot water bottles in our beds! Amazing!

Overall, a fantastic experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this guesthouse as the perfect central sleepover spot in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The hosts were very caring and accommodating - they went the extra mile to assure we were having a great time in their city. We stayed in the Deluxe Room - its beautifully designed bathroom and comfortable king sized bed were great. The enclosed parking area was a plus. The location is perfect! Only down side is if the fellow travelers are a bit loud you will hear them. Luckily our "neighbors" we're very respectful. Don't pass up the fruit and muffins for breakfast - delicious!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WereTravelinLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

The rooms are well proportioned and furnished and are very clean. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and can assist with recommendations for everything in the village and beyond. The location is very central, just one street down from the main street and walking to the centre takes about 2 minutes. I would definitely recommend this to travellers who are both staying for just one night or for a few nights. I would recommend the luxury or front room as it has a lovely bath. It is a bit more expensive than the other rooms but worth every cent!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nu360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
8.5 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#14 of 63 in Franschhoek
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#10 of 63 in Franschhoek
618 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bellingham Homestead
Bellingham Homestead
#47 of 63 in Franschhoek
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek
Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek
#31 of 63 in Franschhoek
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms

Property: 22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
Address: 22 van Wijk Street, Franschhoek, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUALITY AT A BUDGET ACCOMMODATION IN FRANSCHHOEK:Four lovely rooms in a pre 1910 house right in the centre of the town, walking distance from all amenities.We have a basic room (Verandah) with a double bed, toilet, bidet, basin and shower in the room. We have a standard room (Passage Room) with a double bed, shower, basin and toilet en-suite. We have a Luxury room with a kingsize bed which can be made into two single beds if you wish with a large complete bathroom consisting of bath, double basins, bidet, toilet and large shower en-suite. We also have a family room for bigger groups or single travelers or those who do not wish to share a double bed. This section of the house consists of a room with a king or two single beds and two single beds in the adjoining lounge. The room has a shower, double basin, bidet & toilet en-suite. This section can be booked by 3/4 people provided they are prepared to share the bathroom. One person may book a single bed and will not be expected to share with anyone else.Your Hosts Addey & Alta Malherbe would like to invite you to the Food and Wine capital of the Cape Winelands in South Africa. A town made for wine tasting, eating, hiking, cycling, walks, sightseeing, etc. NB This is not a B&B and not self-catering,Situated in the center of the town, 1-minute walking distance from the main center of town, shops and restaurants. Easy access to private entrances. Secure parking.No smoking allowed in the rooms. Cash/ Electronic Fund Transfer or "peble" credit card payments. ATM's available just around the corner from us. A complimentary breakfast snack consisting of a muffin and coffee/tea is included in the room rate together with tea and coffee.Great South African Hospitality by Addey and Alta, your hosts! IN:14:00 - OUT:10:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your 22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing