We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Leeu Estates(Franschhoek)
$572
$472
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Franschhoek(Franschhoek)
$319
$290
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leeu House(Franschhoek)
$461
$387
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$564
$468
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,046
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$187
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$239
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
$759
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
$388
$232
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveler rating
269
129
12
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
129
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barsmall fridgebreakfast was deliciousenjoyed my staybeautiful locationa wonderful stayattending a weddingfriendly hostsmountain viewlovely placestayed here for nightsshort staylovely poolwent the extra milenothing is too much troubleswimming poolpersonal touch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 411 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at Klein Watervall for two nights...And it was not long enough! Ezna and Trevor were such incredible hosts, full of useful information and tips on the places we'd be most likely to enjoy in the area. One of the things which my partner and I love about travelling is meeting people local to the places we are staying in, and our conversations with Trevor (the owner) were an absolute delight. He also put us on to his son's restaurant and bar in Stellenbosch which were equally impressive.
We booked a suite which was very comfortable, the bed (King Size) was simply divine! The bathroom included a large bathtub and shower, there was plenty of wardrobe space and a small fridge, safe and tea/coffee facilities. Oh, our bedroom (upstairs) had a thatched roof too, which looked and smelled wonderful.
The setting was sublime. We woke in the morning to crisp air, gorgeous mountains and a view over autumn-coloured vines. We did not hear any noise from the nearby road at all during our stay, and Franschhoek was a quick drive away, though far enough down the road that we felt as though we were in the middle of the countryside.
Breakfast was delicious, the selection was extensive and Ezna and her team were very attentive and accommodating.
All in all we give this lodge 10 out of 10. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Go for the King size suite. That little bit extra is so worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TootsMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

What a wonderful review!
Wow!!! Thank you so much for writing everything in such detail!
It is the best feeling to know when guests appreciates everything you do for them.
I really hope we can welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We recently spent a night at Klein Waterval as we attended a wedding in the area and it was just amazing wish we stayed longer. It was home away from home. Great service provided by Ezna, the owners and the dogs as our bodyguards. The views are to die for. I slept like a log and had an amazing breakfast the following morning made by the owner Trevor with the fireplace burning in the breakfast room.
They definitely know how to make their guests feel at home. Can't wait to return and can highly recommend Klein Waterval.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hanuscke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dearest Hanuscke,

Thank you so much for your excellent review on TripAdvisor!
I'm so glad that everything worked out so well and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us!
We are looking forward welcoming you back at Klein Waterval!

See you soon!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We were part of a group attending a workshop, and so did not have much time to explore the area, which we should have done. The accommodation was very good, we had no worries, and the service was excellent.

I would have no heistation to recommend Klein Waterval, and would choose it as a future base to get to know the area better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Coen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Coen,

It was such a pleasure, as always to have the group here with us.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, it is much appreciated.
I hope we can accommodate you again in the near future!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Management service was excellent. Amenities was fine. Layout of the rooms were great. also maximised the breathtaking view. Should consider a small fridge in the rooms due to the distance from town. The lounge/furniture set-up in the Suites require an upgrade.


  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Vanessa,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Trip Advisor!
I thoroughly enjoyed you and the family at Klein Waterval!
Glad everything worked out so well.
Hope to see you again!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We spent only one night at Klein Waterval and already regretted it upon departure as both the Lodge as the area would have been worthwile staying a little bit longer. The only minor drawback of the location (and thus the rating very good) is the proximity to the R45 (connecting Franschhoek with Paarl). We nevertheless slept very well there but I recommend to choose one of the more luxurious suites as they are closer to the vineyard. The mountain view from the Riverside Lodge is awesome and we were very pleased by the very friendly hosts (thank you for the advice concerning the restaurant. If we come back to Franschhoek Valley, we will definitely choose the Riverside Lodge again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christophneuschaeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Christoph,

Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor.
And thank you for the good review!
The road is getting more busier every year, but as you said, if you want to hear less traffic during the day and early morning, the rooms towards the mountains and vineyards are an excellent choice.

Hope to accommodate you in the near future again!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews