We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitallity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Ranked #12 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Already for fourteen year, it feels like coming home. Great people who are paying a lot of attention to their guests. The KWR Lodge is located in a beautiful area, from where you easily can make a lot of (daily) roundtrips.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret & Egbe... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dearest Egbert and Margaret,

It still feels like you've left yesterday!
Missing your company breakfast times and in the afternoon before closing time!!!
Thank you so much for the excellent review on TripAdvisor!
You are already like family to all of us at the guest house, but this time it was just more special.
All the best to you for the rest of the year and....can't wait for your next visit!!!!!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 367 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

Our group of 6 enjoyed a weekend stay here on March 3rd . The setting, accommodations and helpful friendly service could not have been more more pleasant and at a good price ! Highly recommend this place.
Jeanette Kruger and group from Boston

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanetteBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Jeanette,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on Tripadvisor.
It is much appreciated.
I thoroughly enjoyed your group at Klein Waterval!
Hope to see you soon again!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Receptionist/hostess - Edna (?) - the jewel in Trevor's crown. We loved our stay and look forward to our next stay. Trevor and his staff could not have been more helpful, especially in assisting us with a problem over our rental car's locking mechanism. All in all, a wonderful stay in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Shelley,

Thank you very much or your excellent review on TripAdvisor.
I'm so happy that we could assist you with the rental car's locking mechanism
Hope to see you soon again!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Lovel location with amazing views over the vines and mountains. The rooms are simple, breakfast was delicious and Ezna wonderfully efficient with nothing too much trouble. Great restaurant recommendations which she then booked for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Sandy,

Your review on TripAdvisor is much appreciated.
I'm glad that you had a fantastic stay and that everyhing worked out so well.

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Although we arrived after the check in had closed there was a very kind lady to greet us and it was not a problem. The location is perfect nestled among the vineyards and a river running through the property. The rooms in the old farm house have a real authentic country feel. There is also a lovely swimming pool area surrounded by trees. The breakfast is also excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Jonathan,

Your review says it all!
So happy that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest!
Thank you so much!!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I had a very pleasant stay here but two aspects were a bit disappointing: very limited television channels and no wifi in the room which was a bit frustrating. Maybe these features could be improved? The setting however was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Storm074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor and pointing out the two aspects we need to work on. It is much appreciated.

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I really enjoyed the beauty of the place, the rooms are beautiful, full of charm;
The service is excellent, I loved the quiet and refined rooms;
The breakfast near the river is great. I also loved to have a glass of wine in the evening looking the view






  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dr Marilia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Dr Marilia,

Thank you so much for your excellent review on TripAdvisor.
It is much appreciated.

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
6.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
5.1 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
6.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
6.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
527 reviews
5.6 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge

Address: R45 | Groot Drakenstein, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $128 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Franschhoek Valley on the banks of the Berg River, surrounded by vineyards and dramatic mountain views, Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge offers friendly country hospitality in a relaxed farm atmosphere. Comfortable double bedrooms, each with their own entrance and private terrace, overlook tranquil gardens and vineyards. A delicious wholesome farm breakfast is served, and for dinner, nearby Franschhoek buzzes with bistros and restaurants. Enjoy the magnificent swimming pool or unwind on the peaceful deck alongside the stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing