We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So pretty, stunning views!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Ranked #10 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“So pretty, stunning views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I had a very pleasant stay here but two aspects were a bit disappointing: very limited television channels and no wifi in the room which was a bit frustrating. Maybe these features could be improved? The setting however was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Storm074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor and pointing out the two aspects we need to work on. It is much appreciated.

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    114
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
208
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I really enjoyed the beauty of the place, the rooms are beautiful, full of charm;
The service is excellent, I loved the quiet and refined rooms;
The breakfast near the river is great. I also loved to have a glass of wine in the evening looking the view






  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dr Marilia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Dr Marilia,

Thank you so much for your excellent review on TripAdvisor.
It is much appreciated.

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

The room was very pleasant and spacious with lots of windows and a large terrace. The grounds are very well-kept. The large pool was large and refreshing on a hot summer day. The room had excellent cross ventilation and was very quiet so we didn't feel any need for air conditioning even in summer. The receptionist offered very good advice about restaurants and wineries, and made reservations for us wherever we needed them. The lodge is a short and easy ten-minute drive to Franschhoek, and provided a good base from which to make excursions to Paarl and Stellenbosch as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Paul,

Just want to thank you so much for your very special review on Tripadvisor.
It is highly appreciated.
So happy that you had a fantastic stay and that everything worked out perfectly.

Hope to see you soon again.

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

A lovely location surrounded by stunning mountain scenery. We very much enjoyed our stay and especially enjoyed our breakfasts next to the little waterfall. The friendly staff went well beyond our expectations in ensuring that we got the most out of our stay and checked out restaurants, arranged taxis and made sure that we had all the information about things to do in the area. It was nice to have access to a pool in such hot weather. We would recommend Klein Waterval to others visiting the area and would certainly have it on our future itinerary.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 362JohnB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you very much for the excellent review on Tripadvisor.
I'm so happy that you had a wonderful stay and that everything worked out so well!
It was such a pleasure to have you here with us!

See you soon!

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We just spent only the one night here on this visit, much to our regret.

The room was comfortably furnished and in keeping with its style as an old country lodge. This does mean no air conditioning but this was not a problem when we stayed.

The place has stunning views, is tranquil and a good base for tours of the Winelands .

The staff were unbelievably friendly and knowledgeable. They organised trips, suggested tourist spots as well as restaurants and organised transport to and from the Lodge in the evening so we could drink with dinner.

The honesty bar is a good way to round the night off and their very good breakfast sets you up for the following day.

Top Tip: Take their advice on where to find the most spectacular setting for dinner – we did and it exceeded our every expectation.

We plan to come back and spend longer at Klein Waterval on our next visit to the Winelands.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JClass340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Your review says it all, thank you so very much for your effort.
It is much appreciated.
I'm so happy that everything worked out so well!
See you soon!

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

A very peaceful lovely place within the vines!
Especially helpful and friendly staff organizing everything you want and giving you great advice on restaurants and places to visit.
Nice breakfast place outside sitting next a small stream.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review on Tripadvisor!
Glad that you liked very thing so much and that all worked out so well.
Hope to see you very soon again!

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Two kind ladies that received us. Rooms/apartments with a view of the Vineyard. What more do you want in Franschoek. We were very well advised concerning a restaurant and a reservation was made immediately. We did liked just about everything in Klein Waterval. Also a fine and safe place to visit with children.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Karel,

What a lovely review for Klein Waterval!
Thank you so much!
Glad that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Hope the rest of your holiday was just fantastic!

Best regards
Ezna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
5.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
6.6 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
6.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#15 of 65 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
5.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
7.0 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge

Property: Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Address: R45 | Groot Drakenstein, Franschhoek 7680, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Franschhoek Valley on the banks of the Berg River, surrounded by vineyards and dramatic mountain views, Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge offers friendly country hospitality in a relaxed farm atmosphere. Comfortable double bedrooms, each with their own entrance and private terrace, overlook tranquil gardens and vineyards. A delicious wholesome farm breakfast is served, and for dinner, nearby Franschhoek buzzes with bistros and restaurants. Enjoy the magnificent swimming pool or unwind on the peaceful deck alongside the stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing