We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaw's Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Ranked #12 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

whilst very nice the rooms are starting to be a little dated and with no airconditioning are not too comfortable at warm times. the breakfast was very good. the parking area without shade is a little less than adequate

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Rob,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.
We always appreciate feedback to keep on improving our standards of Klein Waterval.
So happy that you loved our breakfast!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 367 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

My Husband and I have stayed here about 10 times and is our home base flying in and out of Cape Town. We love the people there who have always been very friendly and consider us part of the family now. A great place to relax, plus plenty of hiking if you like it in the area. We love it!

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaHaederli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Erica,

Thank you very much for your excellent review!
You are like family to us!
Can't wait to have you here with us!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The highlight of Klein Waterval is that it feels like a home away from home. The personalised service and warmth of Roz, Trev and Ezna are wonderful. Their knowledge of the area and recommendations on places to go were fantastic. They even made bookings for the top restaurants on our behalf. Klein Waterval provides the perfect combination of mountain retreat with access to Franschhoek's town buzz. My husband and I began our honeymoon there, and were extremely happy. The swimming pool was also a big plus as a place to unwind! We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D0r0thyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Hayley,

Thank you very much for the most special review!
Glad that everything worked out so beautifully!
Hope to see you soon again!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We loved the setting overlooking the beautiful mountains and the vineyards. Our room was superb with an entire lounge downstairs and a king size bed upstairs with the traditional wooden ceiling. The rooms are away from the main building so they are quiet.There was a cosy honesty bar by the main property where you could read or chat. Breakfast was great and the service by the owners was really attentive with plenty of advice on what wine farms to visit in the area. There is a nice little pool with shady areas under trees with loungers to hang out in after a long day tasting wine ! Wish we had more time there...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavan6Brendan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Gavan,

Your review said it all! Thank you so much for all the positive feedback!
It is much appreciated!
Hope to see you soon again!!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spent a few days over Christmas and felt really looked after by the owners. Charming place that was really cozy with terrific hospitality. Would definitely go back. It's a bit far from town so you need a vehicle.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FreqBizTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you very much for the excellent reivew on Tripadvisor!
I'm so happy that you had such a special Christmas at Klein Waterval.
Always good to have such special memories when you back at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was my 5th visit to Klein Waterval and we enjoyed it again! The quality and experience of the rooms, the pool, breakfast and honesty bar is very consistent. The property is well maintained and over the years we saw some small changes such as new art on the walls in the room and breakfast area which makes it interesting. The owners and staff were very friendly and knowledgeable and helpful to get us booked into the restaurants we favour. This time we stayed in room 8 which has a high ceiling & thatched roof inside. We enjoyed the lavender in front of our room which was freshly trimmed and spread a soft fragrance in the evening sun. Altogether a very relaxing, tranquil and serene place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Anke,

It feels like family coming home!!
We loved all the photos and seeing you both so happy together!
Thank you so much for the very special review! Its is much appreciated.
Hope to see you soon!

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have just returned from a delightful stay at Klein Waterval riverside lodge. The position is wonderful, between Stellenbosch and Franschoek, just off the main road, with incredible views across their own vineyard towards the mountains.
The owners are very welcoming and extremely helpful and made our stay really great.
We had two charming rooms in converted farm buildings which were very comfortable. We really enjoyed the tasty breakfast and the swimming pool.
We will be back- for longer next time! Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PJR135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleinwaterval, Manager at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you so very much for your excellent review about Klein Waterval!
Your words couldn't explain it better.
Thank you for picking up all the fine details, it much appreciated.

Best regards
Ezna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
6.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
5.1 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
6.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
6.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
526 reviews
5.6 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge

Address: R45 | Groot Drakenstein, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $128 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Franschhoek Valley on the banks of the Berg River, surrounded by vineyards and dramatic mountain views, Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge offers friendly country hospitality in a relaxed farm atmosphere. Comfortable double bedrooms, each with their own entrance and private terrace, overlook tranquil gardens and vineyards. A delicious wholesome farm breakfast is served, and for dinner, nearby Franschhoek buzzes with bistros and restaurants. Enjoy the magnificent swimming pool or unwind on the peaceful deck alongside the stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing