We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Ranked #12 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night, as we were attending a wedding in the area. Due to this, we did not spend a lot of time at the hotel to make many comments, however it is in a beautiful location and seems to be well run. We enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 367 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while exploring the area. Based on the reviews on TA we were excited to stay but were a little dissapointed... here's why....
1) there were lots of bugs in the bathroom - all dead lying all over the bathroom, some were squashed into the towels. the whole time we were there they were never removed or clenred. overall the bathroom could have done with a very good scrub
2) the bed was very hard and quite uncomfortable
3) breakfast was average and the quality of the cooked breakfast varied day by day - assume they had different chefs each day
4) we ran out of hot water on the first day - I had only taken a 4 minute shower and suddenly there was no hot water left for my other half. although, the shower was only a trickle and you could barely get wet anyways.

Having said that - the grounds were lovely, great location, just outside Franschoek. The honesty bar was really great and had a good selection of drinks.The staff were very friendly and helpful too. Overall, it was an ok place, it has potential to be really lovely, if a little more care was put in the rooms...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misslcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a completely delightful stay at Klein Waterval. The beauty of the room and the location are fantastic, but the staff is incredible as well. They went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay and a fun time while in Franshoeck. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 636MichaelW636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a perfect stay at Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge. Service was absolutely excellent, very friendly, helpful and hospitable. View from the room was gorgeous. Location between Franschhoek and Stellenbosch is good. The fact that the lodge lies not far from the main road did, contrary to previous reviews we have seen, not bother us at all. Great value for money, so thank you very much for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SiebeR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We made a last minute trip to Franshoek and had a wonderful stay at Klein Waterval. The rooms were great, the team was accommodating, breakfast was delicious, and the self serve bar was a nice touch. Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our choice made on Internet was a very good one !
The ambiance was exactly wat we liked.
The friendly service was remarkable.
Nice breakfast, swimmingpool, WIFI it all helped to have a nice holiday in Franschhoek.
Thank you so much !
Frits and Hanneke Claus.
Netherlands.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frits C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 for just for one night before the Cape Argus MTB race at Boschendal Estate, which was just around the corner. Excellent location for exploring Stellenbosch and Franschoek during a short stay, as it is 5-10 minutes driving either way. The rooms are built under large oak trees, which definitely helped in the 42C-hot summer day. Just at the back of the cottage there was a very large pool, surrounded by trees and a lovely deck with lounges and umbrellas, where we enjoyed a decent swim. The tranquil view from the rooms was on to the vinyard, and mountains. We had a double story unit, with main bedroom upstairs, and the bathroom - downstairs. Kids stayed in the ground floor lounge, where they each had a double size sleeper couch. TV was only in the lounge, with limited DSTV package. No aircons, was a bit of a downside as it gets up to 48C on a good summer day. Good breakfast, very accommodating and friendly staff. Will most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMVDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
6.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
5.1 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
6.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
6.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
526 reviews
5.6 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge

Address: R45 | Groot Drakenstein, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $128 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Franschhoek Valley on the banks of the Berg River, surrounded by vineyards and dramatic mountain views, Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge offers friendly country hospitality in a relaxed farm atmosphere. Comfortable double bedrooms, each with their own entrance and private terrace, overlook tranquil gardens and vineyards. A delicious wholesome farm breakfast is served, and for dinner, nearby Franschhoek buzzes with bistros and restaurants. Enjoy the magnificent swimming pool or unwind on the peaceful deck alongside the stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing