We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Ranked #12 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Staying at the Klein Waterval riverside lodge was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Wonderful to escape the bustle and noise of Cape Town to stay in this beautiful, tranquil spot in amongst the vineyards. Accommodation lovely and rustic, plain and simple but very comfortable. Beautiful stars at night! Spent some very enjoyable evenings swimming in the pool after good long hikes or horse-riding in the stunning surrounding countryside. Delicious breakfasts too, and very welcoming and helpful owner, excellent restaurant and vineyard recommendations! Would love to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 392 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

Beautiful setting in vineyards off of a main road but noise is not a problem. Very comfortable simple rooms;bathroom a little basic.Excellent good breakfast. Perfect for a couple of nights. Very helpful staff and owner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was recommended by a friend who had stayed there. Great pick! Close to town and the vineyards! Rooms are a bit austere, but very comfortable. Too chilly to swim but pool area looked lovely. All in all, a great pick!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillH1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

For a five star wedding my buddies and I elected to eschew the very expensive hotels recommended by the travel planners and stayed at Klein Waterval instead. Huge win. We're all extremely experience travelers and were surprised by the beauty of the venue, the authenticity and friendliness of the staff, and the beauty of the overall experience. Comfortable, good value. Can't recommend enough.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is just a little oasis settled within lovely vines! nice interior vintage decoration of the rooms. The staff is very helpful with great ideas where to go and what to do! Breakfast is great and there is an honesty bar with a good drink selection.
Franschhoek is just a ten minute drive from the lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

this was our 1st stop on our honeymoon and it was a very pleasent surprise.

the buildings are rustic and well laid out, surrounded by vineyards and mountains. the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable on the restaurants and vineyards in the area. they were able to help us with getting a shuttle to and from Franshoek which was perfect.

we liked the self service bar and being sat out under the stars.

i woudl recommend the lodge as a relaxing destination.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodentom1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great place to stay if you want to be out of town and on a working vineyard. Comfortable rooms with view over the vineyards and mountains in the background. Friendly personalised service, good hearty breakfast and central to the top class Franschhoek wineries.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heinrich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
6.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
717 reviews
6.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
6.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
5.9 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#1 of 64 in Franschhoek
144 reviews
2.5 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#18 of 64 in Franschhoek
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge

Address: R45 | Groot Drakenstein, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $133 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Franschhoek Valley on the banks of the Berg River, surrounded by vineyards and dramatic mountain views, Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge offers friendly country hospitality in a relaxed farm atmosphere. Comfortable double bedrooms, each with their own entrance and private terrace, overlook tranquil gardens and vineyards. A delicious wholesome farm breakfast is served, and for dinner, nearby Franschhoek buzzes with bistros and restaurants. Enjoy the magnificent swimming pool or unwind on the peaceful deck alongside the stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing