We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money and a perfect location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Ranked #12 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Lovely laid back atmosphere. Lovely people, very traditional accom with balconies with fab views over vineyards towards the mountains and a lovely pool. Just a short drive from Franschhoek and opposite Graham Beck Wines which is well worth a visit.
No complains, very good value for money. Highly recommended for the price and category.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 362 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stayed here in Dec with my partner and we both thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff are warm and friendly, breakfast is very good and very relaxed. The view from our room was quite simply spectacular and we were lucky enough to enjoy the pool all to ourselves one afternoon. The location is a wee bit out of town but perfect for peace and quiet and its just one straight road into Franschoek. Would definintely return and would gladly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank restaurantlover52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Thank you for a wonderful stay! Breakfast was delicious. Views to die for and very good location for our needs. Suites were spacious and comfortable with lovely linen and towels.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaWil82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

A beautiful setting overlooking a secluded vineyard with the mountain in the back. We stayed there with another couple during a weekend getaway with friends.

The main dutch-farmhouse type building has three rooms and two other rooms attached like an annex, which is where we stayed. Those rooms were cosy but quite simple; probably the rooms in the main building are nicer (they have high thatched ceilings). However all rooms look out directly onto the vineyard – spectacular in the morning when the mists rise, and the sunset – as well as having an extra back entrance to the courtyard behind where in the summers the pool is open.

The breakfast was a bit disappointing: just your standard b&b fare; nothing spectacular. We would have loved some local touches like local cheese or nice jams (after all, Franschhoek is the culinary capital of SA, and one wonders why the owners didn’t take advantage of this).

However, the dining room is part of a standalone building that also includes a fireplace lounge and an unmanned and well stocked honesty bar – open all night. This was fun if you are travelling with a group of friends because after dinner you can hang out by the roaring fire like it’s your own living room (we had it all to ourselves both nights as south Africans like to go to bed super early) and mix your own crazy drinks. The host Trevor was super hands off (maybe a little too hands off!) and you could do as you like.

Overall a pleasant stay in a spectacular setting, perfect for what we did, but perhaps not as luxurious/fabulous as the brochure and some of the other reviews make out. Undoubtedly, it must be incredible in the summer, but then there are surely no special rates like the ones we paid (350 rand pp pn) :(

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Although we were the only guests at the hotel because it was winter we were treated very well. We arrived late and were shown to our bungalow room overlooking the beautiful Franschoek mountains. We drove into the town which was quite dead at 8pm but had a sumptious meal at Reubens in the town which was excellent and original. Enza the manageress could not have been more helpful to us the next morning as she recommended a place we could stay near Hermanus to see the whales which was stunning. The hotel is simple, clean and well situated. It is near the Solms Delta farm which is really interesting to visit as it is a cooperative venture with an interesting museum giving the history of the farm and its inhabitants. Klein Waterval is a great place to explore this exsquisite area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We celebrated our friends 40th birthday at the Klein Waterval Lodge and I was very impressed with the level of service - Ezna you are a star - and the hospitality on offer.

We thoroughly enjoyed the open fire that was provided and well stocked as well as the honesty bar. Furthermore the full farmers breakfast in the morning was a treat.

The lodge is beautifully located wirh great views and only a few kilometres outside of Franschhoek and very reasonably priced. The rooms are not the most modern ones but very spacious and practical.

Thumbs up for a great experience from a fellow guesthouse owner.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GertLInssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Our room (#8) was spacious and lovely. It had its own little terrace overlooking the vineyards. Trevor the owner greeted us warmly and gave us plenty of recommendations on restaurants and wineries to visit.

The small hotel has a small bar for the evenings which works on the honor system, which worked perfectly for us. Met the other guests there at night which was great fun.

The breakfast served by Trevor and his staff was hearty and plentiful, gave you a good basis for the day before you hit all the tasting places nearby (-:

We liked the location very much as it is between Franschhoek and Stellenbosch and not far from Paarl - everything is easy to reach by car.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Hippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
6.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
5.1 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
6.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
2.5 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#18 of 64 in Franschhoek
280 reviews
5.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge

Address: R45 | Groot Drakenstein, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $110 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Franschhoek Valley on the banks of the Berg River, surrounded by vineyards and dramatic mountain views, Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge offers friendly country hospitality in a relaxed farm atmosphere. Comfortable double bedrooms, each with their own entrance and private terrace, overlook tranquil gardens and vineyards. A delicious wholesome farm breakfast is served, and for dinner, nearby Franschhoek buzzes with bistros and restaurants. Enjoy the magnificent swimming pool or unwind on the peaceful deck alongside the stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing