We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

Dutch East Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 78 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Dutch East cuisine is a unique combination of uncomplicated bistro fare, full of traditional South African flavours with healthy portions perfectly presented. The combination of delicate Asian flavours with robust local ingredients creates a subtle yet balanced experience.We specialise in the preparation of meat and seafood. From home smoked bacon, bresaola biltong, dry aged steaks to fresh line fish and daily specials. Open Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, 7 days a week!
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I happened upon this little gem while in Franschoek last month. Service was friendly and efficient, the atmosphere was cosy, and the food was delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scatterling24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    243
    101
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had an overall good experience at Dutch East. The service was excellent. We mentioned to the waiter that we are vegetarian and she immediately suggested the vegetarian options available making it easy for us to decide on our order. Friendly staff and great friendly manager on duty! Food was fresh and very tasty and the setting of the restaurant was lovely for a nice sunny day under the trees ;) We will most definitely go back to the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Totally disappointing! twice”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

After having an awful burger that was ice cold with a freezing pineapple ring last Sunday, we returned for dinner on an invitation from friends, reluctantly we went and I had the prawn masala curry which was completely over cooked, the rice tasted like an old shoe. We waited for more than an hour for food as surprisingly it was full. Luckily the company was good and the wine great. They were under staffed and manager seemed too young and out of his depth. Not once were we asked my him how we were doing. Out of the table 3 out of the 8 meals were OK-ish.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ErikaMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for sundowners”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

great service - staff go out of their way - lovely setting outside and beautiful inside too!!
We just stopped for a drink but the menu looks delicious..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roweenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner at the Dutch East”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Fun place to have dinner. The menu was varied, our entrees were delicious, and the service was excellent. We arrived early, without a reservation, and were seated without a problem.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch East Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Dutch East Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing