We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for all.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dutch East Restaurant

Dutch East Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 75 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dutch East cuisine is a unique combination of uncomplicated bistro fare, full of traditional South African flavours with healthy portions perfectly presented. The combination of delicate Asian flavours with robust local ingredients creates a subtle yet balanced experience.We specialise in the preparation of meat and seafood. From home smoked bacon, bresaola biltong, dry aged steaks to fresh line fish and daily specials. Open Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, 7 days a week!
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must for all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This small but cosy restaurant has the warm at home feeling with a twist you’re looking for. Their food is divine, the atmosphere is terrific and the vibe is out of this world. They brew their own coffee and have a wide variety of beer. Be sure to visit their curio shop in the store to take a piece of heaven with you. I took a handcrafted board home for a very reasonable price.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnyB2BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    230
    97
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
Level Contributor
445 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in Franschhoek for 5 days during a recent tour of SA and having eaten in a few of the restaurants on the main road we were undecided where to eat on our last night. The look of this place lured us in as it looked warm and inviting from the outside. We were delighted with our choice. The staff were friendly, the service was first class, the food was to die for and the bill at the end of the night added to the smile on our faces. For starters I had the spicy butternut soup, my wife had the fishcakes, both dishes were delicious. We both opted for the fillet steak and again they were perfectly cooked and melted in your mouth. It turned out to be the best meal we ate in whilst South Africa. A great place to eat and not expensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StevieH110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Interesting menu, very friendly service and great food! Starters the we had the Cajun spiced fried squid and steamed duck wontons, Mains Tiger prawns and the best and freshest black mussels I've ever had. A must do for anyone visiting Franschoek.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
158 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

A small intimate restaurant on the main road in Franschhoek. I had the homemade sausage that was excellent. The waitress was efficient and very friendly. The whole experience was relaxed, friendly with great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BushFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
314 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Brilliant Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

A lovely restaurant in Main Street Franschhoek. The menu is fairly limited, but the food is tasty. The service is superior and the wine list good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch East Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Dutch East Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing