We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a joy!”

Dutch East Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 79 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Dutch East cuisine is a unique combination of uncomplicated bistro fare, full of traditional South African flavours with healthy portions perfectly presented. The combination of delicate Asian flavours with robust local ingredients creates a subtle yet balanced experience.We specialise in the preparation of meat and seafood. From home smoked bacon, bresaola biltong, dry aged steaks to fresh line fish and daily specials. Open Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, 7 days a week!
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a joy!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

After waiting for over an hour for no food at Taki's we came to Dutch East. The waitress promised to cook to food herself if were subjected to such poor service again! No need - it came quickly and was absoutely delicious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    246
    102
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good coffee!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Only went here for a coffee which was very good. The interior is absolutely stunning and the staff super helpful. Would recommend based on this alone.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BronwynK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It was pouring down when we came to Franschhoek so we took the restaurant closest to the spot where we have parked. That was a good choice. From the moment we approached the door until we left it was great service with a good sense of humour. Furthermore the food was good, the coffee was good, so all in all a very good lunch spot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CPHworldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Landmark in Franchoek”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was an unexpected gem! The food was fantastic and the whole experince left you with a sence of being part of the local culture. We would recommend the hamburgers, truly someting special but I believe you will not go wrong with whatever you choose. You can expect great service

Helpful?
Thank Zapiture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Very Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were walking up on the main street of Franschhoek looking for a lunch time restaurant and decided to give Dutch East a try and it was a great choice, the service is excellent and the food did not disappoint. I had the burger (The Dutch) and my wife tried the fish (grilled Kingklip). I would definitely be back to try the rib eye.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch East Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Dutch East Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing