We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous all around”
Review of Franschhoek Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Franschhoek Manor
Ranked #3 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

On my trip to Cape Town I was interested in visiting the winelands just outside the city. Me and my boyfriend have never been to South Africa. He kind of just picked a place online. As it turns out he picked a great place. Everything from the gorgeous view out of the dinning room in the morning to the landscaping, even the service was great and personable. Wolfgang and Christina really have a great place to share with travelers and locals. We even booked an extra night because everything was just perfect. They can even give you some great recommendations where to eat and visit! We had a lovely time

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jandrus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranschhoekManor, General Manager at Franschhoek Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hi,
this is actually all what we love to to: To try to make your stay remarkable and unforgettable.
Thanks for staying with us and hopefully soon again.
Christina & Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Franschhoek Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 382 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

First things first: This luxurious and well appointed accommodation is about as far away from what you would expect from a guest-house as anything you can imagine! Beautiful rooms with open fireplaces, zebra skin rugs, huge marble-covered bathrooms and a bottle of complimentary port just about sums up your own quarters. The communal areas are spotless, and well decorated, with an honesty bar and nespresso machine in the dining area, a constantly warm stove in the cosy living room, and a spectacular pool and gardens to relax in as you contemplate your next culinary or wine-tasting excursion around the lovely village of Franschhoek.
Wolfgang was attentive and although I would agree with Boston Mike that he had that air of "do not mess with me" about him, I couldn't hold that against a man who was an old-fashioned gentleman enough to meet my pregnant wife at the door of our car with an umbrella when we arrived in the pouring rain, and who was relaxed enough to allow us to sit by the pool until well gone 3pm on our check-out day. He was also full of expert advice on the town's restaurants and vineyards which aided our orientation immensely.
It is about a 10 min walk to town, or 2 min drive and to be honest you are likely to want a hire car in Franschhoek anyway to get around the vineyards
I highly recommend

Room Tip: The black room and blue room both share access to a private pool separate from the main pool
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomandNicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranschhoekManor, General Manager at Franschhoek Manor, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Tom & Nicki,
I was probably smiling across my entire face while Christina was reading me your great review. Thanks for this and particularly thank you for the "old-fashioned gentleman". You might be right, if you got this impression "do not mess with me", as Christina as well is sometimes pointing on this part of my (bad?) attitude. I promise having now an eye on this!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place is truly magnificant. Run by Christina and Wolfgang who always welcome you back with open arms. Franschhoek Manor has become a permanent stop on our itinerary when visting South Africa. The location is perfect, nestled just off the main road, with spectacular views. Every room has a personal touch and your needs are met before you even knew you had them. Nothing is too much to ask.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranschhoekManor, General Manager at Franschhoek Manor, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear both, thanks for your "Home away from home"; my answer is just that easy: Staying with us four or five times in the last two years and having chosen the whole Manor as your "base camp" for your wedding just a year ago means in other words: you both belong to the family! All the best to both of you and see you hopefully soon again. Christina & Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I honestly don't understand why this B&B is not ranked as #1! This place is simply amazing. Design of the room, the wood fire and quality of linen and bath towels. Wolfgang and Christina running this place on their best. Everything they do has eye to detail which you (unfortunately) don't see very often and especially in B&B's. While Cindy is cooking you her famous spicy omelette or egg Benedict Wolfgang will make sure you will get your cappuccino,cafe latte. We didn't want to leave after 6 nights!

Room Tip: Book the Junior Suite. It's a 1 bedroom suite with wood fire place and your own private entrance...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Habibi_Jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Franschhoek Manor is a very nice B&B. the rooms are very nice - we stayed in the Purple and Blue rooms. The owner (Wolfgang) was nice, though I got the sense we would be wise to play by his rules, which we did!

The grounds are absolutely beautiful, with great views out on to the mountains. The pool is very nice, and plenty of places to read in the sun and in the shade on the grounds.

Breakfast was delicious, with a nice variety of gourmet food options.

The location provided great options for running - quiet dirt roads, and two options for running into town.

Would recommend it, but have to mention that there are better deals for nearly-equal B&Bs in town.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonMikeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranschhoekManor, General Manager at Franschhoek Manor, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your comments and I appreciate that you like the place! Although you obviously have alternative places in mind, I entirely agree, there are always alternatives. It was a pleasure having accommodated you and I'm sorry when I'm not having fulfilled your expectations. Wolfgang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Hands down one of the most beautiful and unique properties I stayed at while on my 2 week tour of S.A. From the pool area to the individual guest rooms and eating area, everything looked like it belonged in a magazine shoot. The manor is very conveniently located close to town (about a 10min walk) and has lovely views of the hills and bush when sitting out in the garden or near the pool. Wolfgang and Christina were great hosts and made some very good recommendations for wineries and restaurants in the area which we kindly appreciated. Don't bother staying anywhere else. This is your place :)

Room Tip: Black room is very cool, but all the rooms have their own uniqueness so be sure to look through pict...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amber e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is truly amazing, accommodation spacious, gardens exquisite, large swimming pool, my husband and I could not fault this place, we will certainly be going back next year.

The hospitality was very friendly, Wolfgang and Christina were very helpful and Wolfgang cooked a lovely breakfast. The view from the rooms and gardens was truly stunning, gardens huge and there is also another swimming pool with self catering accommodation.

Room Tip: All rooms of good quality
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debandbob16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.9 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Manor

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: $152 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Franschhoek Manor is a heaven of tranquility for all those looking for some rest and peace in luxurious surroundings with discreet service. We are not a hotel but a private Guest House five bedrooms and a Cottage to ensure top privacy for everybody. The Cape Dutch style Manor House in the form of an E is set amidst 7000 square meters of landscaped gardens with numerous intimate sitting areas and river frontage. It is located about 12 minutes walking distance of the village of Franschhoek and has lovely mountain views. Franschhoek Manor is eclectically luxuriously furnished with great attention to detail, service is discreet, and breakfast is sumptuous. It is served in the dining room. In warm weather, guest may also have breakfast on the main terrace overlooking the main garden. Our gardens are done in different colour schemes with 2 swimming pools, two gazebos, a trellises walkway and about 10 different sitting areas, some of them overlooking the river.A free shuttle service is available at 7pm or 8pm to restaurants within Franschhoek. For your free return we ask to call the service 20min. ahead! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Franschhoek Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing