We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Franschhoek Manor
Nearby Hotels
$252
$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$131
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$313
$283
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$271
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$136
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$495
$411
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
$386
$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leeu House(Franschhoek)
$456
$385
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
$751
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveler rating
392
21
7
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
21
7
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack roommaster bedroomattention to detailinfinity poolfree shuttleperfect hostsstunning gardensshuttle servicegarden cottagebreakfast was deliciouslocal restaurantswhite roseshonesty barhuge bathroommade us feel at homebeautiful placestayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 423 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place is truly magnificant. Run by Christina and Wolfgang who always welcome you back with open arms. Franschhoek Manor has become a permanent stop on our itinerary when visting South Africa. The location is perfect, nestled just off the main road, with spectacular views. Every room has a personal touch and your needs are met before you even knew you had them. Nothing is too much to ask.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranschhoekManor, General Manager at Franschhoek Manor, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear both, thanks for your "Home away from home"; my answer is just that easy: Staying with us four or five times in the last two years and having chosen the whole Manor as your "base camp" for your wedding just a year ago means in other words: you both belong to the family! All the best to both of you and see you hopefully soon again. Christina & Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I honestly don't understand why this B&B is not ranked as #1! This place is simply amazing. Design of the room, the wood fire and quality of linen and bath towels. Wolfgang and Christina running this place on their best. Everything they do has eye to detail which you (unfortunately) don't see very often and especially in B&B's. While Cindy is cooking you her famous spicy omelette or egg Benedict Wolfgang will make sure you will get your cappuccino,cafe latte. We didn't want to leave after 6 nights!

Room Tip: Book the Junior Suite. It's a 1 bedroom suite with wood fire place and your own private entrance which is convenient as you don't have to use the main entrance.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Habibi_Jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Franschhoek Manor is a very nice B&B. the rooms are very nice - we stayed in the Purple and Blue rooms. The owner (Wolfgang) was nice, though I got the sense we would be wise to play by his rules, which we did!

The grounds are absolutely beautiful, with great views out on to the mountains. The pool is very nice, and plenty of places to read in the sun and in the shade on the grounds.

Breakfast was delicious, with a nice variety of gourmet food options.

The location provided great options for running - quiet dirt roads, and two options for running into town.

Would recommend it, but have to mention that there are better deals for nearly-equal B&Bs in town.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonMikeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranschhoekManor, General Manager at Franschhoek Manor, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your comments and I appreciate that you like the place! Although you obviously have alternative places in mind, I entirely agree, there are always alternatives. It was a pleasure having accommodated you and I'm sorry when I'm not having fulfilled your expectations. Wolfgang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Hands down one of the most beautiful and unique properties I stayed at while on my 2 week tour of S.A. From the pool area to the individual guest rooms and eating area, everything looked like it belonged in a magazine shoot. The manor is very conveniently located close to town (about a 10min walk) and has lovely views of the hills and bush when sitting out in the garden or near the pool. Wolfgang and Christina were great hosts and made some very good recommendations for wineries and restaurants in the area which we kindly appreciated. Don't bother staying anywhere else. This is your place :)

Room Tip: Black room is very cool, but all the rooms have their own uniqueness so be sure to look through pictures or on the website to specify which room you like best.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amber e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is truly amazing, accommodation spacious, gardens exquisite, large swimming pool, my husband and I could not fault this place, we will certainly be going back next year.

The hospitality was very friendly, Wolfgang and Christina were very helpful and Wolfgang cooked a lovely breakfast. The view from the rooms and gardens was truly stunning, gardens huge and there is also another swimming pool with self catering accommodation.

Room Tip: All rooms of good quality
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debandbob16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews