We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Franschhoek

“Exquisite casual fine dining ”
Review of Protege Restaurant

Protege Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 96 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Protégé
16 January
We had the most exquisite meal here.
Our 9 year son opted for the reduced menu, and we took the chefs tasting menu.
The snacks alone served before the courses are an experience on its own.
Each course with beautiful intricate plating.
Starting with subtle flavors and elevating the flavor palette with each course.
The respect in which the chefs treat the ingredients is evident in how each flavor profile is enhanced.
Being of Indian decent, I was pleasantly surprised to see our humble curry leaf take centre stage in some of the courses.
Portion sizes where perfect for me.
Plating was pleasantly surprisingly.
I would absolutely make the trip from Durban to Franschhoek again!

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Yugeshree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 191 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

For our last night in SA we wanted a meal to remember and Protégé did not disappoint.
We chose the Chef Experience, seated at the counter overlooking the chefs at work and really enjoyed this. We also opted for the wine pairings and this took all the guesswork out of selecting. The wines were unusual but really well matched to the food, and the food itself was sublime. We particularly enjoyed the ‘KFC’, the springbok and the pork confit. All in all definitely a meal to remember.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank MarMar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

Extremely slow service -2 hours to receive our starters .
Lovely snacks but disappointing food for $$$

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Happy1960_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

An interesting fine dining experience. On the plus side it was lovely food, nice setting, good wine. The snacks and sashimi starter were the standouts. Negatives - perhaps too many snacks before the real food began and too long between courses.

The manageress seemed to know her stuff, certainly more than the local waiters/waitresses.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaulFromTheLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

We were lucky enough to enjoy a meal at Protege on Christmas day - a delicious tasting menu with great alternatives for our children (aged 9 and 11). Beautiful restaurant, great service and fun and festive atmosphere on Christmas day - would highly recommend.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ruthcath2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Protege Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Protege Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing