We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Outstanding!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ivy Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ivy Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly Outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

What a TREAT!!! I was lucky enough to be treated to another weekend of luxury at The Ivy Apartments in Franschoek!! The best location right off the main road whilst still harboring the tranquility & peace of this tiny town!! I absolutely love the IVY and would stay there indefinitely if my hubby would allow us too ;) What a perfect destination for couples, family & singles just looking for some alone time! I recommend these apartments to everyone & anyone!! SUPER spacious, modern contemporary décor whilst still feeling like a home away from home!! SPOIL yourselves & visit the IVY apartments in Franschoek !!! :D

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    81
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
133
206
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

i had the pleasure of staying at the Ivy apartments in Franschoek. The rooms are spacious and elegant and the service excellent. The location is the best in Franschoek and would highly recommend this boutique hotel for any person seeking the best Franschoek has to offer.
I cannot wait for our next return to Franschoek and our next wonderful experience at the Ivy apartments !!

Thank you for making our experience so special!

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent and spacious and of great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

A really nice apartment with lots of space!

Fully equipped with kitchen, washing machine, TV, DVD, 2 bathrooms, AC, fan....

A perfect place to stay if you are visiting the wine and food paradise of Franschhoek.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helgamårten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Enjoyed staying at your apartments, within walking distance to restaurants & shops. Wellington very helpful at all times when we called for assistance.
Please check that everything is in working order before the guest arrive.
The ironing board was broken which Wellington replaced immediately.
The last 2 days we showered in cold water because the cleaners switched off the geysers

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ntsoaki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We loved our stay at The Ivy where we were received with a warm welcome back by Wellington. The apartments are tastefully furnished and so spacious and comfortable with beautifully clean linen.
The Ivy is centrally situated on the main road and is close to everything. We loved every minute of our stay and will definitely highly recommend it to anyone. There is so much to do in this lovely little town.
Many thanks to all.
Estelle Katz

Room Tip: All three apartments were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 18Estelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon. The apartments are centrally located in Franschhoek. We had a lovely apartment (No 6). The apartments was decorated immaculately with minimalist decor and furnishings. The living room was a vaulted double height space with a massive mezzanine bed deck. The were giant windows that led out onto a private balcony overlooking the main road in Franschhoek. The apartment also had another bedroom, a kitchen and two bathrooms. This really is great accommodation and would highly recommend booking.

There were a few niggly things with the apartment which could do with sorting out - poor wifi made it practically unusable, blinds let light in the morning and there were two high windows uncovered, the bed also crippled my back for a couple of days so could probably do with a better quality mattress, no one on site to great us other than the cleaner. I would let these put you off though as the apartments are really stunning.

Room Tip: Apartment 6 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryFromTheMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I escaped for a spontaneous overnight getaway here recently and it was fabulous. Beautiful modern spacious apartments in the centre of Franschoek.
We stayed just the two of us but perfect for 4 people.
The open plan kitchen, dinning room and lounge was comfortable and stylish.
On our arrival we were shown around and made to feel right at home.

A special mention needs to be made for the robes and towels - they were exceptionally soft and comfy. The bathroom is beautiful & modern with a massive shower.

They definitely put in the extra effort to make sure our stay was comfortable.

Cant wait to return for another dreamy get away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dovi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEIVYAPARTMENTS, Manager at The Ivy Apartments, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review,at The Ivy we are constantly striving to make our guests stay a memorable experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Apartments

Property: The Ivy Apartments
Address: 1 Kruger Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ivy Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Apartments are a collection of 9 luxury self catering one- and two- bedroom apartments, (breakfast by prior arrangement) situated uniquely on the main strip of Franschhoek Village. The apartments are fitted with bamboo flooring, air conditioning, modern integrated appliances and every convenience you could require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Ivy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing