We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful comfortable convenient and welcoming -The Ivy”
Review of The Ivy Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ivy Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We loved our stay at The Ivy where we were received with a warm welcome back by Wellington. The apartments are tastefully furnished and so spacious and comfortable with beautifully clean linen.
The Ivy is centrally situated on the main road and is close to everything. We loved every minute of our stay and will definitely highly recommend it to anyone. There is so much to do in this lovely little town.
Many thanks to all.
Estelle Katz

Room Tip: All three apartments were great.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18Estelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for The Ivy Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 524 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon. The apartments are centrally located in Franschhoek. We had a lovely apartment (No 6). The apartments was decorated immaculately with minimalist decor and furnishings. The living room was a vaulted double height space with a massive mezzanine bed deck. The were giant windows that led out onto a private balcony overlooking the main road in Franschhoek. The apartment also had another bedroom, a kitchen and two bathrooms. This really is great accommodation and would highly recommend booking.

There were a few niggly things with the apartment which could do with sorting out - poor wifi made it practically unusable, blinds let light in the morning and there were two high windows uncovered, the bed also crippled my back for a couple of days so could probably do with a better quality mattress, no one on site to great us other than the cleaner. I would let these put you off though as the apartments are really stunning.

Room Tip: Apartment 6 was great
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryFromTheMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I escaped for a spontaneous overnight getaway here recently and it was fabulous. Beautiful modern spacious apartments in the centre of Franschoek.
We stayed just the two of us but perfect for 4 people.
The open plan kitchen, dinning room and lounge was comfortable and stylish.
On our arrival we were shown around and made to feel right at home.

A special mention needs to be made for the robes and towels - they were exceptionally soft and comfy. The bathroom is beautiful & modern with a massive shower.

They definitely put in the extra effort to make sure our stay was comfortable.

Cant wait to return for another dreamy get away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dovi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEIVYAPARTMENTS, Manager at The Ivy Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review,at The Ivy we are constantly striving to make our guests stay a memorable experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have been to Franschhoek a number of times across different hotels. This time we wanted a self catering apartment - whilst I don't know of any others I would recommend in preference to this, there were too many issues with this place.

On the positive side, the chap who is around in the evening to look after the place is very helpful and tried his best with us. And the location, in the middle of the highstreet is absolutely perfect if you want to walk to restaurants and bars.

On the downside I didnt sleep a wink, and even contemplated leaving a number of times. The rooms seem to vary significantly with those facing the road appearing to have nice balcony furniture and fitted curtains. The ones we were in, inside the complex had the balcony barred off so you cant get out and a pile of stones on the balcony as a view. There were only blinds on the window which didn't keep out any light whatsoever and since they are only fitted over half of the window anyway, you will be woken up by the sun at 5am every day. What's more, with the bedroom on a raised mezzanine level and the hot air rising, it is like sleeping in a furnace with only one ineffective ac unit trying unsuccessfully to cool the whole place. Even if both of these things were resolved I still question how anyone could sleep in a bed that size...I have never seen anything like it..they appear to be about 5ft 5 inches long. I am 6'3" and the bed finished at just below my knees! It's like a house for dwarves or something!

The Internet also didn't work, which apparently is in the process of being upgraded. In conclusion whilst I don't know of a better self catering to recommend in the area, I know I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller21321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEIVYAPARTMENTS, Manager at The Ivy Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Chris
Thank you for your review ,we constantly try to improve our services to our guests and have taken note of your comments and will were we can improve on them.
Our guests at The Ivy enjoy the space and the privacy and comfort of large apartments without the usual fuss of hotels,guest houses and b& b`s
As well as our wonderful location right in the heart of the village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you are a traveller preferring style over functionality , but ideally both, then the Ivy Apartments situated in close proximity to the High Street of the quaint Franschhoek Village is for you. Perfectly located at the entrance to the commercial end of Franschhoek under dappled trees and with scenic views to the colossal mountains that make a magnificent statement our apartment delivered all that was expected. Although not manned by a formal reception over the weekends a designated on site ‘caretaker’ was on hand to receive us, introduce us to our new lodgings for the weekend and explain the lay out and modus operandi with entry and exit from the Property which was secure and safe. Our Apartment was ultra-modern fitted out with great style and offering a loft style arrangement that oozed with comfort and modernity. The kitchen was fitted with amenities and modern white goods beyond the standard offerings of an apartment of this calibre. The large TV offered additional DSTV channels but proved to be somewhat cumbersome to operate. Cleaning was on demand and service friendly. The overall rate offered provided great value and I would certainly return to experience this collection again and will have no hesitation in recommending this establishment to both Domestic and overseas clients.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stay at the Ivy apartments whenever we go to Franschhoek - the apartments are stunning, classy, centrally located and well serviced and maintained. Highly recommended just like Franschhoek. Good job


  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Thanks to Lisa for arranging accommodation a such short notice. Arrived the Saturday to attend a wedding and welcomed by a very helpful Wellington. Apartment exactly as indicated in advert... not just a picture book! Rooms and bedding spotless...even Ferrero Roche chocs! A bit too much noise however, from traffic outside early the Sunday morning. Will most definitely be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Merle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Apartments

Address: 1 Kruger Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: $142 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ivy Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Apartments are a collection of 9 luxury self catering one- and two- bedroom apartments, (breakfast by prior arrangement) situated uniquely on the main strip of Franschhoek Village. The apartments are fitted with bamboo flooring, air conditioning, modern integrated appliances and every convenience you could require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Ivy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing