We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of The Ivy Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ivy Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
1 review
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely apartment in the centre of Franschhoek. Lots of restaurants and vineyards within easy reach. The apartment is very well laid out and has all the essentials including washer/dryer. All staff are very pleasant and the late check out we requested was no problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CiaranH656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    88
    13
    2
    6
See reviews for
150
221
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Luanda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Everything was great for us, very new, clean, peacefull and close to everything in the town. We had to change our booking from Christmas to Easter, very easy and not charge extra!!!! you will wish that it was your own house!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GertrudisZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Ivy is perfectly situated close to the main road and lots of restaurants and also attractions. We will definitely book there again. Lisa handles the booking very professionally and the staff who greets you when you arrive with your luggage are very friendly and eager to take care of you and your luggage. They are also there to see you off properly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AfricanGillCanDoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We could be classified as locals living in Hermanus!
One night and 2 days spent here was a perfect change from the coast.
Our apartment was definitely a WOW- modern, private and very well equipped / furnished.
If you stay here you have no worries with parking, Wi Fi ( a little variable! ) or access to restaurants / shops.
A perfect choice!
I would highly recommend The Pancake House, Coffee Works and Sacred Ground, the 5.6 km walking hike at La Motte and the gardens and Farm Shop at Babylonstoren.
See what you think!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EJC0551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Ivy Apartments are beautifully decorated and spacious. They are well located and quiet. We were a group of girls and thoroughly enjoyed being able to come and go with ease and we were in walking distance to all the shops and delicious restaurants in Franshoek.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We loved our visit to The Ivy! We were greeted by a very friendly and efficient Wellington. The apartment was stylishly decorated and well laid out. We enjoyed sleeping in the loft albeit a little noisy & quite light throughout the night (only I had this problem, being a very light sleeper). Our balcony had a bird's eye view overlooking the courtyard of a nearby restaurant. A band played and the patrons danced: a great atmosphere. We enjoyed a wonderful evening in this charming little town and lovely establishment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Ivy was definitely an incredible "find" for accommodation in Franschhoek! I had to go back for my second time - and it most certainly met my expectations!! Not only is it very central and within walking distance to everywhere you want to go and see, but the beautiful, clean and spacious apartments themselves were absolutely perfect!! The apartments are very modern and spotless, along with a "self-catering" aspect - allowing one to cook for themselves as they please. The staff were so friendly and helpful towards us too, making our experience that much better. I would definitely recommend The Ivy Apartments - what a treat of a weekend it was!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Apartments

Property: The Ivy Apartments
Address: 1 Kruger Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ivy Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Apartments are a collection of 9 luxury self catering one- and two- bedroom apartments, (breakfast by prior arrangement) situated uniquely on the main strip of Franschhoek Village. The apartments are fitted with bamboo flooring, air conditioning, modern integrated appliances and every convenience you could require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Ivy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing