We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate Ivy!”
Review of The Ivy Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ivy Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Immaculate Ivy!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We could be classified as locals living in Hermanus!
One night and 2 days spent here was a perfect change from the coast.
Our apartment was definitely a WOW- modern, private and very well equipped / furnished.
If you stay here you have no worries with parking, Wi Fi ( a little variable! ) or access to restaurants / shops.
A perfect choice!
I would highly recommend The Pancake House, Coffee Works and Sacred Ground, the 5.6 km walking hike at La Motte and the gardens and Farm Shop at Babylonstoren.
See what you think!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EJC0551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    86
    13
    2
    6
See reviews for
148
220
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Ivy Apartments are beautifully decorated and spacious. They are well located and quiet. We were a group of girls and thoroughly enjoyed being able to come and go with ease and we were in walking distance to all the shops and delicious restaurants in Franshoek.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We loved our visit to The Ivy! We were greeted by a very friendly and efficient Wellington. The apartment was stylishly decorated and well laid out. We enjoyed sleeping in the loft albeit a little noisy & quite light throughout the night (only I had this problem, being a very light sleeper). Our balcony had a bird's eye view overlooking the courtyard of a nearby restaurant. A band played and the patrons danced: a great atmosphere. We enjoyed a wonderful evening in this charming little town and lovely establishment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Ivy was definitely an incredible "find" for accommodation in Franschhoek! I had to go back for my second time - and it most certainly met my expectations!! Not only is it very central and within walking distance to everywhere you want to go and see, but the beautiful, clean and spacious apartments themselves were absolutely perfect!! The apartments are very modern and spotless, along with a "self-catering" aspect - allowing one to cook for themselves as they please. The staff were so friendly and helpful towards us too, making our experience that much better. I would definitely recommend The Ivy Apartments - what a treat of a weekend it was!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

this is the 5th time we have visited the Ivy. it is still the most luxurious and comfortable apartment we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. from the warm welcome of Lisa and Wellington, with easy access to parking which is directly at the apartment to the gorgeous decor of each apartment, no expense or attention to detail has been spared. the beautiful bedrooms with the crisp white linen, the most decadent fluffy white gowns and most comfortable couches and exquisite bedrooms, there is no need to leave the apartment.
we will definitely be back for the 6th visit!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmollyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

First class in every way. The staff were exceptionally helpful, the apartments are beautifully appointed and well equipped. The Ivy has a superb location, close by all amenities - but also peaceful and tranquil. Parking facilities are great - drive in, drive out with easy access to apartment. We were personally recommended to stay at The Ivy and we were not disappointed - superb and highly recommended. Can't wait for our next visit to Franschoek and a stay at The Ivy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimKeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a excellent experience staying at The Ivy. The location is unbeatable and the service was outstanding. Everything in Franschhoek is easily accessible from The Ivy. I agree with previous posts regarding the air conditioner. It is located downstairs and is undersized for the unit. Additional fans were already provided and made the stay extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beek_Ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Apartments

Property: The Ivy Apartments
Address: 1 Kruger Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ivy Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Apartments are a collection of 9 luxury self catering one- and two- bedroom apartments, (breakfast by prior arrangement) situated uniquely on the main strip of Franschhoek Village. The apartments are fitted with bamboo flooring, air conditioning, modern integrated appliances and every convenience you could require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Ivy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing