We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday at The Ivy”
Review of The Ivy Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ivy Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We loved our visit to The Ivy! We were greeted by a very friendly and efficient Wellington. The apartment was stylishly decorated and well laid out. We enjoyed sleeping in the loft albeit a little noisy & quite light throughout the night (only I had this problem, being a very light sleeper). Our balcony had a bird's eye view overlooking the courtyard of a nearby restaurant. A band played and the patrons danced: a great atmosphere. We enjoyed a wonderful evening in this charming little town and lovely establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 548 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Ivy was definitely an incredible "find" for accommodation in Franschhoek! I had to go back for my second time - and it most certainly met my expectations!! Not only is it very central and within walking distance to everywhere you want to go and see, but the beautiful, clean and spacious apartments themselves were absolutely perfect!! The apartments are very modern and spotless, along with a "self-catering" aspect - allowing one to cook for themselves as they please. The staff were so friendly and helpful towards us too, making our experience that much better. I would definitely recommend The Ivy Apartments - what a treat of a weekend it was!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

this is the 5th time we have visited the Ivy. it is still the most luxurious and comfortable apartment we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. from the warm welcome of Lisa and Wellington, with easy access to parking which is directly at the apartment to the gorgeous decor of each apartment, no expense or attention to detail has been spared. the beautiful bedrooms with the crisp white linen, the most decadent fluffy white gowns and most comfortable couches and exquisite bedrooms, there is no need to leave the apartment.
we will definitely be back for the 6th visit!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msmollyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

First class in every way. The staff were exceptionally helpful, the apartments are beautifully appointed and well equipped. The Ivy has a superb location, close by all amenities - but also peaceful and tranquil. Parking facilities are great - drive in, drive out with easy access to apartment. We were personally recommended to stay at The Ivy and we were not disappointed - superb and highly recommended. Can't wait for our next visit to Franschoek and a stay at The Ivy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimKeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a excellent experience staying at The Ivy. The location is unbeatable and the service was outstanding. Everything in Franschhoek is easily accessible from The Ivy. I agree with previous posts regarding the air conditioner. It is located downstairs and is undersized for the unit. Additional fans were already provided and made the stay extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beek_Ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Beautifully decorated apartment, right on the Main Street , complimentary milk, water and chocolates a really nice welcoming touch. Undercover parking and lovely balcony made this stay very easy and comfortable. A power point for a hair dryer in the downstairs bathroom was the only thing missing. Friendly and helpful staff helped make this stay an absolute pleasure, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a top class establishment. Decor is beautiful and has everything one needs. Staff are friendly and helpful. Location is ideal - close to wine farms, shops and eating out within easy walking distance. Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEIVYAPARTMENTS, Director of Sales at The Ivy Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you Nicole for your great feedback. We try our utmost to offer warm and efficient service for a property we are very proud to represent. We are fortunate to have a very convenient location, avoiding the need for a car on most occasions. The apartments decor are thanks to the owners superb taste and definitely contribute to the inviting yet classy feel.

We hope to be able to welcome you and your family back in the near future. We will be sure to include you in our Winter Specials mailing list.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.2 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
58 reviews
0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
715 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fransvliet Guest House
Fransvliet Guest House
#1 of 43 in Franschhoek
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Apartments

Address: 1 Kruger Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: $170 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ivy Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Apartments are a collection of 9 luxury self catering one- and two- bedroom apartments, (breakfast by prior arrangement) situated uniquely on the main strip of Franschhoek Village. The apartments are fitted with bamboo flooring, air conditioning, modern integrated appliances and every convenience you could require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ivy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing