We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in Franschoek”
Review of The Ivy Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ivy Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to stay in Franschoek”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Ivy Apartments are located in a superb position within walking distance to a variety of restaurants on the main road. We enjoyed a wonderful weekend in Franschoek which including wining and dining. Our apartment was beautifully furnished and spotless. Lisa and her staff provided excellent service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southbeach2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEIVYAPARTMENTS, Manager at The Ivy Apartments, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you For this great review we at The Ivy pride ourselves on our excellent service to our clients
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    88
    13
    2
    6
See reviews for
153
225
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Well appointed, spacious apartments. However, our stay was somewhat marred by the non-functioning airconditioning and with temperatures of 35 deg, it wasn't pleasant. Even more annoying was the fact that the owner was nonresponsive to our text message for assistance. However, the caretaker went out of his way to try and assist with extra fans and was most apologetic and obliging. The apartment block is well maintained and the apartments themselves were lovely. We were in the apartment overlooking the main road which I did find slightly noisy.

Room Tip: Some may find apartment no.6 slightly noisy as it overlooks main road. Also had to draw the blinds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEIVYAPARTMENTS, Manager at The Ivy Apartments, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Sorry about the heat very unexpected heatwave in the Cape,I did not recieve your SMS but however was telephonically contactable as per my welcome pack with all the relevant info and would happily have moved you.Airconditioning services were contacted and as it was notified later in the afternoon they could only get to us (as we are a outlying are)the following day.Sorry for your experience and would have gladly moved you to one of our other luxury apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed two nights here and were amazed at the quality of the apartment for the price we paid. We stayed in room 3 – beautifully furnished, extremely comfortable and huge. The website photos are very accurate. Ample car parking space and on the doorstep of the main road in Franschhoek which has lots of restaurants that are in walking distance of the Ivy Apartments. The daily cleaning service worked like clockwork.

We were not disappointed at all with this apartment, in fact it exceeded our expectations and I am slightly puzzled as to why it is not rated more highly on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkers234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have just read the comments of Bronwynk29 and could have thought that I had written the report. We too stayed in Apartment 3 (outlook to Kruger Street not the main street) for 4 nights at the end of September. The weather was poor but the accommodation was excellent and despite such a large open room we kept warm and very comfortable. Cannot fault any aspect of the apartment. The daily servicing was indiscreet and very very good and Wellington looked after our questions very willingly and efficiently.
Good value for such a position. No dishwasher but otherwise well equipped kitchen. Good television with spread of sports and other channels. One can choose either of the bedrooms, the downstairs one giving less light early in the morning!!. Easy, secure parking. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed here in September with my boyfriend and my sister and we were so pleased with our choice. The apartments are right in the heart of Franschhoek and you can walk to all the main road restaurants and shops. There is even a Colcacchio's Pizza place next door which is super convenient. We stayed in Apartment 3 which was massive and beautifully decorated. Being September the weather was still quite chilly and it rained every day while we were in Franschhoek. This was not a problem as the apartment has an AC / heater unit that works wonderfully. The apartment is fully furnished and stocked and has everything you would require of a comfortable stay - a washing machine, large fridge, large balcony, a well stocked kitchen in terms of cutlery and plates etc and even had a lovely cheese knife set! The apartment was very clean and a cleaner came in every day to clean if required. Wellington (who runs the place) is very helpful and we had no problems at all! If we ever return to Franschhoek The Ivy is the only place we will stay!

Room Tip: Look at the photos on the website - the pictures are very accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BronwynK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We managed two nights, two couples in number 6, plenty of space with kitchenette and lounge. Clean, modern finishes and very comfortable. Well located - close to everything in town - and you can walk eveywhere. We had a balcony and decent view too, secure parking. Highly recommended

Room Tip: #6 was nice with a view - big enough for two couples but I didn't see the other rooms and some a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan_Howie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I searched the itnernet for a while & stumbled across the Ivy not knowing what to expect as it is the hardest thing to judge a venue by pictures! I was blown away by the luxury, comfort & friendly service. Also perfectly located within walking distance to all amenities. We are planning to go back in the near future...

Room Tip: Corner suites are lovely & sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Apartments

Property: The Ivy Apartments
Address: 1 Kruger Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ivy Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Apartments are a collection of 9 luxury self catering one- and two- bedroom apartments, (breakfast by prior arrangement) situated uniquely on the main strip of Franschhoek Village. The apartments are fitted with bamboo flooring, air conditioning, modern integrated appliances and every convenience you could require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Ivy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing