We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot and location”
Review of The Ivy Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ivy Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great spot and location”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We managed two nights, two couples in number 6, plenty of space with kitchenette and lounge. Clean, modern finishes and very comfortable. Well located - close to everything in town - and you can walk eveywhere. We had a balcony and decent view too, secure parking. Highly recommended

Room Tip: #6 was nice with a view - big enough for two couples but I didn't see the other rooms and some a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan_Howie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    86
    13
    2
    6
See reviews for
148
220
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I searched the itnernet for a while & stumbled across the Ivy not knowing what to expect as it is the hardest thing to judge a venue by pictures! I was blown away by the luxury, comfort & friendly service. Also perfectly located within walking distance to all amenities. We are planning to go back in the near future...

Room Tip: Corner suites are lovely & sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knysna
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Modern in design, and beautifully kitted out! We had a very comfortable stay at the Ivy, for tow nights in mid winter. Fantastic heating from the deluxe air conditioner, and lovely fluffy bath robes. Wellington was extremely helpful too, going out of his wAy to make sure we knew how everything worked. My only suggestion would be to ask for a room at the back, as there us quite a bit of traffic noise on the front!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shamemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

my third visit back to the luxurious Ivy was more magical than ever! despite the pouring rain which came down in a deluge for all 4 days of our time in Franschoek, the apartment was so warm, so comfortable and so luxuriously fitted out, that there was no reason to leave it. serviced daily, self catering and a decadently comfortable sofa to watch tv on the big screen gave one no reason to have to set foot outdoors. the incredibly comfortable beds with crisply starched white bed linen and warm blankets and throws coupled with the warmest, fluffiest white bath robes meant you didnt even have to get dressed. the luxuriously elegant bathrooms with thick white towels, had all the most delicious bath accoutrements. included in the accommodation were constant surprises of the utmost convenience and no detail was overlooked. there was a nespresso machine complete with pods as well as an iphone docking station and hairdryer. there was also an international plug provided. total attention to comfort and luxury was evident. a perfect weekend getaway that i highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmollyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

If you ever venture to a corner of the Cape called Franschoek, make the Ivy apartments your place to stay. This is the 3rd time we have stayed here as a family and we are consistently blown away by the accommodation and service provided by Lisa, Wellington and the team.
Exceptional apartments with all you will need. Modern, up to date, beautifully appointed.
Comfort goes without saying and Fraschoek is magical.

Enough said - no faults!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philfamdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This place is a must for any traveller to stay in. It is excellent. Decor is first class. Wellington is very courteous and cannot do enough for you. Lisa is on hand is there are any issues. I would definately recomment this place to anyone travelling to South Africa. The comfort and detail in each apartment is unbelievable.

Room Tip: First Class Accomadation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karratha
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

staying here made us feel like royalty. the furnishings are outstanding and comfortable. Had the best night's sleep. Lisa was exceptional in fitting us in for our stay. should have stayed longer. the location is superb. highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinkarratha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Apartments

Property: The Ivy Apartments
Address: 1 Kruger Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ivy Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Apartments are a collection of 9 luxury self catering one- and two- bedroom apartments, (breakfast by prior arrangement) situated uniquely on the main strip of Franschhoek Village. The apartments are fitted with bamboo flooring, air conditioning, modern integrated appliances and every convenience you could require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Ivy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing