We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged twice for room!”
Review of The Ivy Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ivy Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The location of the apartments are great, not that great however to be charged twice for the apartment, a matter that has still yet to be resolved by the management. The air conditioning units in the apartments are inadequate to cool the large apartment I was in and the washing machine was broken.

Overall, good location but terrible service and i am hoping being charged twice for the room is an oversight that will be resolved by the management ASAP.

Room Tip: Larger rooms have poor A/C facilities, and no A/C provision on the second floor probably ok in the w...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tcb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for The Ivy Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 524 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2012

As apartments go this was up there with the very best. Clean, modern and big our apartment had 2 bedrooms 2 bath rooms balcony over looking the main street (not a bad thing) and double height living area. A nice thing about the location is that the local pizza place across the road often had it's own outside entertainment such as gospel singers and bands which made for a nice atmosphere from the balacony on an evening. You also get an great view of the mountains and the rolling mist over them in the morning, it's quite some sight almost a fog waterfall.

The standard of the cleaners could not be faulted, we did feel a bit guilty that they wash up all our plates pots and pans that we had left. Secure parking was available off street and out of site which was good and the general level of security was excellent.

It's a great little town for food and drink and the apartment was perfect for entertaining (we had some friends come over)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thfc1afc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Great value stay for a big family. Very well design apartment that can house 5 persons. Everything is well organized and available for any family activities. The central location, right at the heart of Franschhoek center makes the stay even more enjoyable and accessible. The restaurants are everywhere near as well as the smaller boutique shops that sell excellent local stuff. A pick and pay shop makes purchasing of necessity and grocery easy for my family.

We can also cook simple dinner in the apartment and doing the laundry as well. Highly recommend this apartment those family that wants everything under one roof

Room Tip: Room 8 design has a modern and classy look. If you are one looking for such design for your room, th...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Great value for money, located on the main street of town, yet still queit and discreet. quick response and attention from on-site caretaker, Wellington. Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BVPlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Once again we stayed at The ivy and it was the most perfect weekend. Every attention to detail was considered. The ambience of the exceptionally luxurious apartment allowed for a magical weekend. The beds are incredibly comfortable, the linen exquisite, the decor very stylish and user friendly, the white fluffy towels thick and luxurious and the gowns provided were warm and comfortable.
a feeling of being pampered like a princess!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmollyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Usually we spend Franschhoek weekends at cottage style accommodation on farms, but we have also used apartments in town. We were intrigued watching The Ivy apartments being constructed in what for us was a perfect location, and spent last weekend there. It was a truly excellent choice.

The apartments are not quite in the centre of the main street, and restaurants like the Tasting Room or Common Room at Le Quartier Francais or Ryan's Kitchen at the eastern end of the street may not be considered easy walking distance. But for us, all our usual supply shops are certainly an easy walk away: the Salmon Bar at the Yard, Huguenot Chocolates, Fromage de France at La Cotte Inn and Biccci for bakery products.

Parking is secure. There are under-cover bays behind electronic gates and lock-up garages (with which we did not bother).

Our duplex apartment (#6) was excellent. Self-catering in Franschhoek seems a strange idea, but for those so inclined, the compact, open-plan kitchen is very well outfitted with quality appliances including a gas hob, electric oven, microwave, refrigerator, deep freeze and washing machine. The double volume lounge area is equipped with a fair-sized lcd tv, a dvd player (bring your own dvds) and dstv with the usual hospitality industry limited bouquet. There is a small dining table tucked under the stairs with 4 chairs. Also downstairs is the second bedroom and a second bathroom (shower only). The main bedroom (open to the double volume over the lounge) and en suite bathroom (with bath and shower) are upstairs, . There is a balcony (with 2 loungers and a small table) off the lounge. The air-conditioning is efficient and there is a ceiling fan. The developers have not scrimped on the fittings, and have succeeded in creating an ambience that is a cut above competing properties that we have experienced.

The only minor reservations were that the bed in the main bedroom was on the small side (we did not use the second bedroom but the bed looked no larger) and had a very soft mattress that was not our preference. If you are hoping for a hand-held shower hose, you will be disappointed; the ubiquitous overhead rain showers are here too.

The website is very informative and the online reservation worked most efficiently (www.theivyapartments.co.za/). Use the apartment-by-apartment virtual tours on the website (click on the room / area name to move to the next room / area). All apatments other than #1 appear to be duplexes. #5 & #6 face the main street; if that does not put you off, they get the north sun and have a lovely leafy outlook.

Overall it was an excellent experience, and we shall undoubtedly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMK_GBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Everything about the Ivy was perfect. My sister and I stayed in Apartment 3. We had been travelling together for several days and had been staying in hotel so the thought of having a two bedroom apartment for a few days was very appealing.

The furnishings were very luxurious and the apartment came fully equipped. The only issue we had was finding the hairdryer. It was hidden in a decorative box next to the upstairs bed. Go figure.

I've been a Travel Agent in the United States for 28 years and I have become VERY selective over the years. I will definatly recommend this property to my clients.I t's a great value and a perfect location. And yes, the Zebra skin rug is REAL. Love it!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Apartments

Address: 1 Kruger Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: $142 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ivy Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Apartments are a collection of 9 luxury self catering one- and two- bedroom apartments, (breakfast by prior arrangement) situated uniquely on the main strip of Franschhoek Village. The apartments are fitted with bamboo flooring, air conditioning, modern integrated appliances and every convenience you could require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Ivy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing