We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice accomodation”

Sorbonne Luxury Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sorbonne Luxury Apartments
Johannebsurg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

We found the apartment to be clean, extremely comfortable and well equipped.
It has aircon which is very much needed in Franschoek.
It was a perfect apartment for what we needed-nice kitchen and bathrooms, nice pool too.
Not serviced however.
We would definitely recommend!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank linkyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
224 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

It is easy to be sceptical when a property uses the word “luxury” as part of its name, the adjective is so overused these days. But the apartments at Sorbonne Luxury Apartments live up to their claim, they really are luxurious. We stayed in apartment #10 and it was simply gorgeous. The two bedroom, two bathroom apartment had all of the modern amenities one could expect or want: fully functioning kitchen with top-notch appliances and marble countertops, air conditioning for those hot Franschhoek summers, a fireplace and heated floors for chilly evenings. The décor was elegant and it really made you feel as if you were coming home to your own apartment as opposed to some holiday accommodation. The location is also wonderful, easy walking distance into the village of Franschhoek and on a quiet street. The absolute highlight of our stay at Sorbonne was Riette the property manager. She is an absolute treasure with such a welcoming personality. She made sure everything was perfectly taken care of, gave us some excellent tips of where to wine and dine in Franschhoek and welcomed us as if we were long-time friends. We are looking forward to coming back to Franschhoek again and we will definitely be staying at the Sorbonne!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin2010187337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Very friendly greeting on arrival, and we loved the lavender and a card wishing us well on our wedding anniversary.
Very attractive, comfortable accomodation, excellent decor and attention to detail is impeccable,
Good quality bedlinen, towells and toiletetries.
Excellent quality products used.
We found it a little too compact, bathrooms a little small.
We only stayed one evening , so that suited us.
We would have preferred a lift..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valmuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

If you have limited luggage, this is the place for you! There is no elevator and the apartment we stayed in - there are a few - was on the third floor. There is a lockable garage, so you could leave your big suitcase there and just bring up the essentials.

We were there for 4 days and it made a lovely base for us. I think it is a bit far for a walk to the restaurants, but if you did want to drink at dinner, the walk back would be very lovely. A number of restaurants do a pickup and drop off service for guests, as there is no taxi service in Franschhoek.

The fittings, furnishings and smaller touches made you feel totally at home - if only I had the money to furnish my place like that! The linen was top of the line, the underfloor heating and heated towel rails fab, kitchen appliances and gadgets top of the line. The full kitchen was wonderful. The bathrooms with great shower pressure were wonderful.

Local guide books, magazines, and menus were great. I got bronchitis and really appreciated the comfortable sofa with soft chenille blanket, pillows, the selection of games, books and tv. There was a tiny balcony with just room for a small table and 2 chairs to appreciate the lovely view. There is a second bedroom.

The security was good. There was a washing machine in the garage. There is a pool in the lovely garden. The apartments and area are quiet, but the second bedroom is on the outside passage, so conversations on the stairs can be a nuisance.

It was excellent value for money, but daily servicing was not included. Apparently the maid could do washing and ironing for you, but the cost was quite substantial, if I remember correctly R120 for 6 hours.

I would definitely go back, but leave most things in the garage.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgintransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackenfell
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Firstly, we were accomodated by everyone at Sorbonne. The friendly service directing us directly to the gate... The room exceded all expectations! Thank you for the great weekend!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Ville Lodge
De Ville Lodge
#32 of 40 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Petit Bijou
Le Petit Bijou
#44 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Centre-Ville Guest House
Centre-Ville Guest House
#25 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorbonne Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorbonne Luxury Apartments

Property: Sorbonne Luxury Apartments
Address: Cnr Akademie & De Wet St, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a peaceful area, 5 minutes walk from the village center of Franschhoek, these luxurious 2 bedroom apartments (sleeps 4), beautifully appointed with fully equipped kitchens, fireplaces and satellite TV, await the discerning traveler with a need for privacy. Secure parking and swimming pool available on premise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing