We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worthwhile experience”
Review of Lynx Wines

Lynx Wines
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.59*
and up
Half-Day Wine Sampler Group Tour from Franschhoek
Ranked #7 of 59 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lynx Wines - one of the smallest wine estates in Franschhoek, producing expressive wines that reflect the passion of the winemaker and his small, dedicated team. We pride ourselves in our friendly, personal and informative cellar tours – not to mention our numerous award winning wines. Wine tastings in German and Spanish by appointment.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worthwhile experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I read about Lynx wines on trip advisor and booked a cellar tour and tasting with Dieter, the winemaker. My wife and two friends accompanied me. This experience was the highlight of our tour to the Cape winelands. Dieter is passionate about winemaking and showed us through his whole winemaking process. Then came the tasting, and WOW, his wines are devine. My personal favourate was the Xanache! Dieter also has a young assitant winemaker, Helgard and he is equaly very knowledgeable and passionate about wine! The trip is well worth the while and I can recmmed it to anyone. Thanks Lynx wines!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    31
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A fantastic boutique winery”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I had the most extensive wine tour here which we found to be fun and interesting with the assistant wine maker Helgard.

We paid 30 Rand each for the tasting but was well worth the education in itself and great to taste so many fine wines. Although we are not big wine drinkers we found their wines to be best that we tasted in SA and therefore was the only place we actually purchased a bottle at very reasonable price.

We highly recommend a trip to Lynx and appreciate they do so much wine making by hand.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank stevemaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great experience”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have had the most amazing winetour at this winery! Dieter gave us a tour arround the cellar explaining the whole winemaking proces. After that we tasted the wines and they were very good! I would definitely recommend this winery if you visit Franschhoek!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lisette1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA USA
2 reviews
“Simply the best”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Dieter Sellmeyer is the consummate winemaker and ideal host for an introduction to the Franschhoek wine region. My wife and I have visited wineries in Australia, Argentina, Italy and many other countries, but nowhere have we found the passion, thoughtfulness and skill that Dieter brings to his products. On two occasions, in 2008 and 2011, we visited Dieter and sampled his outstanding wines. For anyone traveling to South Africa's Cape wine region, we suggest making a visit to Lynx a high priority. Thanks to the Southern Hemisphere Wine Center headquartered in Huntington Beach, California, we are able to enjoy Lynx wines at anytime in San Francisco. How do we sum up Lynx? It's simply the best!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Norman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The lynx is the star of the Franschhoek safari”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our best wine tasting experience in Franschoek. Helgard van Schalkwyk, the assistant winemaker who took care of us, is extremely knowledgeable and kind, which made this wine tasting (including tour of the cellar) an unforgettable experience. And his passion for winemaking shows in the quality of his wines. The Shiraz is breathtaking and we are looking forward to seeing the bottles with the Lynx in our home in Switzerland…

In short: Excellent wines and amazing experience! A must-do in Franschoek.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank fish1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lynx Wines also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Lynx Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing