We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply brilliant”
Review of La Petite Dauphine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Petite Dauphine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I have found heaven!

Franschhoek was the last stop before heading back to reality. What trip to SA would be complete without it !

We booked at La Petite Dauphine. The room was immaculate with sophisticated touches. I loved the pillow-topped bed. And in general the whole feeling of the estate.

My partner and I are quite picky when it comes to coffee so the Nespresso machine in our suite was such a relief after the horrid sachet coffees in our previous hotel rooms.

We had lunch at the Café. It was so good we went back for dinner too!

Thank you to the owners and staff at La Petite Dauphine for making our stay so special!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank ObserverOf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 186 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in a group and took 4 rooms, average is all I can really say, the views are very pretty and the town is a must to visit.

The staff are really not that polite.

breakfast was ok, but they do not do room service BUT its a hotel ?
they have a very miserable Cockrill who needs a mate and then he would be happy or maybe he thinks its average like me.

Would I go back NO

Would I recommend it NO

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JillyB371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontvangs, Owner at La Petite Dauphine, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear “JillyB”

The most appropriate response for your malicious review is that we are not able to agree with you.

Hendrik, the cockerel, a simple farm animal also not escaping your harsh observations, merely reflects the manner in which he is approached.

We are a Country House, not a Hotel. An obvious difference for the experienced traveler.

Room service, considering the layout of our estate, is not a practical option. Food would reach our guest suites cold and unappetizing.

Surprising that you failed to mention that our staff arranged with Café BonBon to remain open past the hours of service (without prior notice)to serve a very late lunch to you and your group.

Furthermore, you had been offered to be collected from your suite and transported to the restaurant. Not the act of unfriendly staff in our opinion.

All the best to you and the any establishments yet to be reviewed.

Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a great boutique hotel set among the fruit trees a few minutes out of Franshhoek. The cottages are well appointed, comfortable and spacious and the wood burning stoves come in handy on cool winter night. The management and staff are very helpful and the breakfasts perfect. It's a nice 15 minute walk into town with good taxi services to bring you back....
The scenery is amazing with mountains rising up all around the Franshhoek valley.

Room Tip: Room six is a gem - quiet and secluded with an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Nothing I can say that hasn't been said before so I'll add a couple of suggestions that would get you a 5* review in my book.
1. Show your guests to their accommodation.
2. Have the heating on in cold weather ready for guests' arrival - for extra brownie points have the wood burning stove ablaze.
3. Teach your staff the meaning of a 'Do not disturb' sign.
But these are trivial points in what is otherwise a superb lodging. Doing the laundry gratis was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward1951S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

What an amazing place! We recently stayed at La Petite Dauphine for four nights and would go back in a heart beat.

We stayed in Room 1 which has fantastic views from every window. The room is more than comfortable with everything one could hope for - think under-floor heating, his and hers' gowns and slippers, a fireplace, wonderful bath tub with luxury bath goodies and a Nespresso machine (with fresh milk provided everyday!).


The breaksfasts were delicious and varied, I would recommend the Eggs Benedict and Chocolate Banana crepes.

Although the place exudes luxury, the staff were very friendly and relaxed and you don't get that 'stuck-up' hotel vibe (as is the case with some of the other places in Franschoek).

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone - a stunning place in a truely stunning location.

Room Tip: Room one is perfect for a couple - best views and great bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Suoerb accommodation in beautiful cottages located amongst olives and vines around this working wine farm. Our room had wood burning stove which was wonderful on the chilly evenings. Each cottage very quiet & private. An ideal place for couples. Cafe Bon Bon is the restaurant on farm which does a fantastic breakfast to set you up for a day's wine tasting & shopping!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed for the first time at La Petite Dauphine last year and I couldn't wait to get back to share it with another friend. This place is amazing, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else! The staff and owners are all friendly, the rooms are beautifully decorated (I am an interior designer so I appreciate the attention for detail, excellent taste and luxury they provide), the service is top notch, the amenities are first class, the setting is breathtaking, the breakfast is beyond compare. I plan to return to South Africa many more times and La Petite Dauphine will be at the top of my of places to stay. I just need more time to spend in this magical place!

Room Tip: I stayed both times in the two bedroom, but imagine there couldn't be a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cowenevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 12 in Franschhoek
728 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 12 in Franschhoek
201 reviews
1.3 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 12 in Franschhoek
524 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 12 in Franschhoek
561 reviews
2.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Dauphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Dauphine

Address: Excelsior Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: $290 - $800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Petite Dauphine 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Petite Dauphine is a picturesque estate set among vineyards, olive groves and fruit orchards. The historic working fruit and wine farm has superior accommodation on offer. An archway formed by cypresses, white roses and agapanthus lines the long driveway and leads to manicured lawns and garden beds bursting with colour and fragrance. The Nine Suites are superbly decorated with views over dams, sun kissed orchards, vineyards and the breathtaking Franschhoek mountains. Guests will be pampered with soft gowns and fluffy towels, other amenities are also provided to make the stay truly comfortable. Suites are climate controlled, with under tile heating, heated towel and wood burning fireplaces for chilly winter nights. Addiitional features include complimentary WiFi, Nespresso Coffee Makers and Blu Ray DVD machines. Breakfasts are served at the Café BonBon, a 200 year-old restored wine cellar, set amongst old oak trees. The Cafe is also open for lunch and intimate dinners on selected evenings with a menu featuring seasonal ingredients. The Studio at La Petite Dauphine is the perfect location for intimate weddings the farm is able to host.Veruska's Wine Bar at La Petite Dauphine exudes a relaxed rustic ambience within exposed brick walls and offers exlusive wine tastings for neighbouring Haut Espoir Wines estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Petite Dauphine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing