We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and meal”

Haute Cabriere Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 80 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Franschhoek's iconic Haute Cabriere Restaurant is well known for its unique location, set into the side of Franschhoek Mountain and overlooking the Valley. Soaring arches and the view over the cathedral-like Pinot Noir Barrel Maturation Cellar below offer an experience which is not to be missed. On sunny days, guests can enjoy the beautiful vistas over Franschhoek from the terrace, while on cool days a roaring fire creates a cosy atmosphere. The menu revolves around classic technique with bold flavours with chefs Nic van Wyk and Westley Muller in the kitchen. The flavours and textures on the plate are specifically designed to complement the range of Haute Cabrière wines and Pierre Jourdan Cap Classiques - all of them served by the glass and by the bottle at cellar door prices. Bringing all of these elements together, Haute Cabrière offers the true marriage of food and wine.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

A group of 6 of us went in late March on a Friday evening and what a wonderful experience it turned out to be. The food and service was excellent and the wines lovely, be it that there is only one red as the winery is quite rightly renowned for it sparkling and white wines. The whole atmosphere of being " underground" inside a mountain looking over the barrels in store was brilliant. The service was good, and when asked if they could do a " Scottish Coffee", they initially said no, but someone went away got a bottle of whisky and behold " Scottish coffee" was produced. A place we will return to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Hi Malcolm,

Thank you for visiting and we're very happy to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us. It's always useful to receive feedback from visitors in order for us to constantly strive to improve the experience for every visitor and now we have 'Scottish coffee'! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
There are newer reviews for Haute Cabriere Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 359 of 608 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

Visited Haute Cabriere on a sunny winter’s day, set up on a hill overlooking the Franschhoek valley, beneath snow capped mountains; it really is a beautiful setting.
Decided to do a wine tasting before lunch, what a treat, the wines are exceptional, as too were the tasting room staff. The 2014 Pinot Noir Chardonnay is as good as previous years, apparently just being released.
After the tasting, had lunch at the restaurant, opted for the three course winter set menu with wine paring. The starter, Potato Soup with truffle oil was nourishing and warming, taste textures really great, with soup; froth & crispy potato crisps...could have been possibly less salted.
Main course of Confit Lamb was a complex dish with great flavours, and again textures with the tobacco onions; the lamb was rich and melts in the mouth...a really great dish.
Instead of desert, having enjoyed the PotStill Brandy, decided on the Cheese Board paired with the brandy. To be honest a little disappointing, selection of cheese was not exciting, with Dalewood Framage just down the road, could have been better. All in all the meal was good, the wines that accompanied, exceptional.
The waiter staff were good, service was prompt, but the restaurant was quiet. They could have been more knowledgeable about the ingredients in the black board specials, the restaurant menu had great descriptions, and obviously there wasn't space to elaborate on the board, as such the waiters or even the chef could have explained elements of each dish, for me would have made the dining experience more memorable.
All in all, a great day, would definitely recommend the wines, wine tasting & restaurant. Thank you for the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Hi Jon,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to post this review. We're naturally very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and your comments are very much appreciated as this will help us in our continued effort to improve the experience that all visitors should receive. We look forward to welcoming you back to Haute Cabriere next time you're in Franschhoek.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The food was really special but at the price I would expect nothing less. The restaurant is pricey. The wines were great. We did the tasting menu combined with wines and I really recommend it. My frustration comes from the fact that the staff made so little effort to explain the food. The chef came out on the first course and that was great but after that no one made any effort to introduce any of the remaining courses. The wine was served in an equally cursory fashion.

I'd have been very happy to pay that price many times but you need more than a delicious meal to justify it.

On the positive side, the restaurant was flexible and helpful; they swapped out one of the courses on the tasting menu and were comfortable with us choosing different menus.

All said and done, the food was flawless and I'd go back just for that.

Thank Lisaroos14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauteCabriere, General Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Lisa

Thank you so much for your complimentary feedback about the food and the flexibility in responding to the change request. We obviously strive to deliver on all fronts, including the way in which our staff interact with our guests when they present the menu and serve the wine. I am sorry that we missed out on the opportunity to impress you in all aspects of the experience, but your constructive input will certainly help us in improving where we fell short. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back at Haute Cabriere Restaurant in the near future!

Kind regards,

Christiane von Arnim
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having read the rave reviews of HC, we decided to visit the restaurant for Sunday lunch. First disappointment was that they only serve the HC wines at the restaurant. Fair enough, but when your only red wine is a Pinot Noir, it best be out of this world, which it is definitely not. Furthermore, while a Pinot Noir is good in summer, it is not the best choice on a cold winter day. While the food (springbok & duck, chocolate fondant as pudding) were good, it wasn't anything amazing. There are so many amazing restaurants in the area, best to give this one a skip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nakkiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauteCabriere, Director of Sales at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Nakkiran,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your visit to Haute Cabriere Restaurant was not in line with your expectations, and I would like to take this opportunity to clarify for the benefit of other TripAdvisor readers that indeed our whole restaurant concept revolves around the wines that are produced on the estate. We have gone to great lengths to design dedicated food and wine pairing menus, and an a la carte menu that uses the freshest locally grown produce to pair perfectly with our wines – all together creating the perfect sense of “terroir” and the perfect marriage of food and wine. And while we agree that there are a number of amazing restaurants in Franschhoek, Haute Cabriere sets itself apart from the average as you will not be able to find such a dedicated wine pairing experience anywhere else. With respect to your comments on Pinot Noir - which I believe to be a matter of personal taste - I would only like to highlight that our wine list offers a selection of different vintages from our vinoteque – each with its own distinct characteristics: some are more elegant, some are more robust and complex – so in our opinion there is sufficient scope for guests to find a style that suits their preference. Again, thank you for your comments and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to Haute Cabriere in the near future.

Kind regards,
Christiane von Arnim
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We visited Haute Cabriere for dinner during our stay in Franscheok.
The service was excellent. The food was impeccable. The price was unbelievably reasonable.

I have eaten in some Michelin starred restaurant's in London and Haute Cabriere is to the same if not of a higher standard.

I cannot fault any aspect of our evening.

Excellent experience.

Thank sian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Hi Sian,

Thank very much for your kind words and we'll be sure to pass them onto Chef Ryan and his team. Thank you for visiting us and we look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Franschhoek

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haute Cabriere Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Haute Cabriere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing