We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view, great food, worth the visit”

Haute Cabriere Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 76 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Franschhoek's iconic Haute Cabriere Restaurant & Terrace is well known for its unique location, set into the side of Franschhoek Mountain and overlooking the Valley. Soaring arches and the view over the cathedral-like Pinot Noir Barrel Maturation Cellar below offer an experience which is not to be missed. On sunny days, guests can enjoy the beautiful vistas over Franschhoek from the terrace, while on cool days a roaring fire creates a cosy atmosphere. Haute Cabriere's menu revolves around seasonal availability of produce, which is mostly sourced locally or even grown organically on the farm. The flavours and textures on the plate are specifically designed to complement the range of Haute Cabriere wines and Pierre Jourdan Cap Classiques - all of them served by the glass and by the bottle at cellar door prices. Bringing all of these elements together, Haute Cabriere offers the complete marriage of food and wine.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely view, great food, worth the visit”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We ate here after having eaten at Delaire Graff and La Petite Ferme over the previous two days. Perhaps we were slightly jaded with too much rich food but this venue wasn't quite as special as the other two I refer to above. However, the food was absolutely excellent, but the whole estate just felt slightly more commercial in nature and more geared to wine sales perhaps.

We were able to try some of the estate's reds that don't appear to be readily available elsewhere and which matched the food perfectly.

We'd definitely go back - this is an excellent lunch venue and felt relatively low key but still sophisticated.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi Andrew,

Thank you for visiting us, taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to welcoming you here on your next visit to Franschhoek.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    154
    43
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointed - fast food service at 5 star dining prices”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Very disappointing lunch at the cellar restaurant yesterday. Staff rude and is such a mad rush to finish up we ate in 30 minutes and were rushed out without dessert. The food we had was average. Tuna dish congealed and really unappealing. Have always had great meals here but might as well have gone to macdonalds yesterday.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauteCabriere, General Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Natalie,

Our sincerest apologies that you did not have the proper Haute Cabriere experience you are used to and which has brought you back before. We would like to believe this to be an isolated incident as we always strive to maintain and better the standard of our food and our service but at the same time would like to assure you that we will be doing all that we can to ensure this does not re-occur for any one of our guests.

We would like to invite you to return so that we are able to give you the real Haute Cabriere experience with the "true marriage of food and wine", so if you would kindly e-mail us at restaurant@cabriere.co.za or contact us on 0218763688 to make a booking suitable for you.

Kind Regards,

Dane Blignaut
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Devon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Return visit - still a favourite in Franschhoek”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Last visited 18 months ago for lunch on the terrace. As always when returning after a period of time we were concerned that we would not be as impressed.

Any concerns were totally unnecessary.

The ambience in the cellar style restaurant is great - nice and cosy on a cooler evening. We took advantage of the half size portions to assemble our own tasting menus. John's highlight was the duck, and mine the kudu, but the hake, goats cheese and desserts were all fantastic.

Friendly and efficient service - highly recommended.

Still one of our all time favourites in Franschhoek.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teaeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Teaeee,

Thank you for your comments, I'll make sure they are passed onto Chef. Giving customers the opportunity to have half portions of dishes has proved very popular to do exactly as you say - "assemble your own tasting menu."

Thank you for joining us and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
207 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“5 Star Food and Service in Franschhoek”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Lunch with our son in this 'underground' winery. The food is French influenced and amazing. We tried their tasting menu with accompanying fine wines. We certainly have never eaten a meal quite like this anywhere in South Africa. The service is excellent as well. Reservations are essential especially during weekends and holidays. Haute Cabriere will see us again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Patricia,

Thank you for taking the time to join us and post this review. Being able to offer a tasting menu does give customers the opportunity to try a wider variety of food and wine pairings so the experience is that much greater than a single bottle for the meal. As you say, it's always advisable to book and we look forward to you joining us again soon.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“take the wine tour”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

take the wine tour before you sit down for a leisurely lunch. Witness the guide opening a bottle of champagne with a sabre(sabrage) taste the numerous wines on offer than order them top accompany your lunch. Pure decadence! The meal was perfect, but do book beforehand for this very popular restaurant

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank martinSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Martin,

Thank you for visiting us and thank you for taking the time to review us on TA. The sabrage is some synonymous with Haute Cabriere and no visit would be complete without seeing this. So some sound advice to future visitors (thank you again) and we've very happy you enjoyed your meal - I'll pass your compliments onto Chef. We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haute Cabriere Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Haute Cabriere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing