We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining”

Haute Cabriere Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 76 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Franschhoek's iconic Haute Cabriere Restaurant & Terrace is well known for its unique location, set into the side of Franschhoek Mountain and overlooking the Valley. Soaring arches and the view over the cathedral-like Pinot Noir Barrel Maturation Cellar below offer an experience which is not to be missed. On sunny days, guests can enjoy the beautiful vistas over Franschhoek from the terrace, while on cool days a roaring fire creates a cosy atmosphere. Haute Cabriere's menu revolves around seasonal availability of produce, which is mostly sourced locally or even grown organically on the farm. The flavours and textures on the plate are specifically designed to complement the range of Haute Cabriere wines and Pierre Jourdan Cap Classiques - all of them served by the glass and by the bottle at cellar door prices. Bringing all of these elements together, Haute Cabriere offers the complete marriage of food and wine.
Dordrecht South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had dinner in their restaurant overlooking the wine cellar. Certainly a fine dining experience. Great service and their wines complemented the meal to perfection. The portions were small but everything was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank llarter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin494, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi llarter2013,

Thank you for your review and thank you for visiting us. I'll pass your comments onto the restaurant and look forward to you visiting us again soon - next time to overlook the Franschhoek Valley!

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    154
    43
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great lunch on a cold winters day”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Haute Cabriere restaurant is cut into the rock and is combined with the wine cellar below. White linen tablecloths and chairs give the place an air of sophisticated comfort and the roaring fire keeps everyone warm. Vaulted ceilings give the feeling of being underground (which you are)!
Many people were having the Table d'Hote set menu, but we opted for starter-sized portions of selected mains. The springbok loin wrapped in panchetta on blueberry French toast with a maple jus was just amazing!
Dessert was a white chocolate mousse wrapped in a chocolate sponge served with a pinot-noir "cloud" and a marscapone cream. It looked great, equally great concept and awesome presentation, but somehow there was a serious lack of flavour and depth. The overriding flavour was simply "sweet", but not enough depth of chocolate. Bit disappointing.
The service was excellent - professional and welcoming without being too stuffy.
Just one negative - the stone staircase down to the toilets had a musty, sewerage-type smell and there was a water leak halfway down the stairs. A plumbing review is recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin494, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi llana G,

Thank you for visiting us and the lovely feedback. Unfortunately, with a venue that is built into the side of the Franschhoek mountains, periods of heavy rain which we experienced during the time of our visit – may result in a little bit of water entering through the rocks. We apologise for the inconvenience that may have caused you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Haute Cabriere soon.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Visited Here On the Wine Tasting Tram”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Visited Haute Cabriere on the wine tasting tram which the gentleman working there promptly took our order for the wine tasting and brought out several wines immediately. As we were pressed for time the fast service was appreciated. There was a spectacular view from the outside seating. It was the best wine tasting we were at all day and once we finished the tram tour we returned for some bubbly. We were so impressed with it we purchased a magnum and 2 bottles and we were informed by the same guy where our local distributor for this vineyard`s product was. It was really enjoyable and we should have probably spent the day here instead of carrying on to other vineyards, next time we`ll know better!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin494, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Ian O,

Thank you not only for visiting us but for the very kind words you said, I'll make sure they are passed onto our tasting room staff. We are indeed very lucky to work in such a beautiful place as Franschhoek and the tram is a very welcome addition to the Franschhoek wine valley. We hope to see you again - to wine & dine next time! and if you get a chance perhaps post of photo enjoying the magnum on our facebook page. Thank you once again.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Table d'Haute”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Friday lunch while the rain hammered down outside, but all cosy in the underground resto. This was one of the most enjoyable meals I've had, wonderful flavours & presentation. We had the table d'haute & my son the roast chicken. I was so happy to share the experience with my family. Service was spot on.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SayaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin494, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi SayaChris,

Thank you very much for visiting us when the weather was not at its best and for taking the time to post your review. We find the Table d'Haute an extremely popular menu for many of our guests. Look forward to seeing you again soon and we'll see if we can organise some better weather for you to enjoy the wonderful Franschhoek Valley below.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited Haute Cabriere for wine tasting and lunch over the weekend. The whole experience was fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were very knowledgable about the wines, which were paired very well with the delicious food. The roaring fire and cosy surroundings really made our day on a cold and wet Saturday. Great value too. Would definitely visit again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JayneH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin494, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Restaurant, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi JayneH80,

Thank you for your review and taking the time to visit, especially when the weather was not at its best. Happy you enjoyed the best of us in winter and next time you should visit when the weather is better so you can enjoy views over the Franschhoek valley below.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haute Cabriere Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Haute Cabriere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing